Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ames High School

Public | 9-12 | 1400 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 1, 2014

Didn't realize how great of an education I had received from Ames High until I got to college. AHS really prepared me to succeed at the next level. Also, many great opportunities with academic clubs, sports, arts, music and other misc. clubs. Thrilled with my experience at AHS.


Posted April 25, 2013

This school can be very comparable to a prison. I attended Ames High School 2008-2012. I LOVED my freshman and sophomore year in high school. Everything was fun the dances, sporting events, school activities, classes, friends, teachers, everything was perfect. Junior and Senior year was just a big disappointment. I really just dragged those years in boredom and confusion in what and why am i at this high school. Somehow the school managed to change the system. it might be because they hired a new principal, new rules, new everything. I don't understand, everything was great about the high school. Why change it? i feel bad for all the students who didn't attend Ames High School before the Fall of 2011. They will never experience fully what high school is all about. It's all about fun, creating new opportunities, an experience in your life, and as well as learning and preparing for your future. My days in high school are long gone now, but i will always remember my experience here. Former Student of Ames High Always a Little Cyclone
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2012

We have three children who have graduated from AHS and for the most part we have been happy with their education. All three of our children have different interests and all three were able to find something to get involved in at the school. The school does a pretty good job with challenging the brighter students but the regular classes for the average students set the bar too low. There are some really good teachers at the school but there are also teachers who are uninspriring and even lazy. A big complaint for us is that the students did not get to keep their test papers. One reason was that the teachers were afraid future students would have access to these and cheat. A lazy teacher re-uses the same tests year to year. The good teachers know how to tweak a test so that it wouldn't matter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

Yes, this school has students that smoke, students that drink, that do drugs, skip class, and students that just don't care, but every school has these things I guarantee that. The faculty however has been taking steps to change this and to make AHS the best it can be both athletics and in the classroom. Because we live in a college town (ISU) I believe that most of the families see the importance of education and raise their children as such. That's why being an average student here is so difficult what with a 3.2 GPA average, i think that's right. The students at AHS that are great are the students that aspire to succeed. They take it upon themselves to push themselves in the classroom or on the field, creatively and artistically, with the help of dedicated teachers with different styles of teaching all to help with the student's learning process. As a student of AHS I see students that have that drive on top of the class, involved with clubs, sports, friends, keeping their days jammed packed because they love it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2011

Everyone thinks that this is a great school, but as a student I think that it's not as good as everyone thinks. There are a lot of people skipping class, failing and not caring, smoking, drinking, doing drugs, etc. The school doesn't address any of these things. We've never had anti-drug weeks or assemblies or anything.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

We've got some of the most creative, talented students in the country. As an alumnus, I want to see this creativity be used for it's greatest potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2008

This school has lots of programs for excelling students. It gets to be student driven once shown that they can learn at this level, and I find that very rewarding.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2008

Ames High prepared me for college. It boasts a very intelligent, capable staff, high test scores, lots of extracurricular activities, and challenging classes. I had a good experience going to Ames High School.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
African American78%
Asian100%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial92%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students92%
African American91%
Asian97%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial100%
White92%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 81%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 2%
Black 7% 5%
Hispanic 5% 9%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A39%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Opera
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 3:05 pm
Gender
  • Coed

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Busing students > 3 miles
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Opera
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1921 Ames High Dr
Ames, IA 50010
Phone: (515) 817-0600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT