Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ames High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 16, 2015
- a student
Thanks to Wendi Reger for always being so kind, and taking the time to listen to my worries

Ames High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 16, 2015
- a student
Teachers and staff will go out of their way to help students when they need it.


Ames High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 16, 2015
- a student
I love that this school is open to new ideas and new ways of thinking. If a student wants to try something new, they just have to ask!

Ames High School 5

Posted October 16, 2015
- a student
Ames is a great school with many opportunities to students in many fields of study! They are ranked very high in test scores, but also value clubs and arts as well.

Ames High School 5

Posted July 01, 2014
- a community member
Didn't realize how great of an education I had received from Ames High until I got to college. AHS really prepared me to succeed at the next level. Also, many great opportunities with academic clubs, sports, arts, music and other misc. clubs. Thrilled with my experience at AHS.


Ames High School 1

Posted April 25, 2013
- a student
This school can be very comparable to a prison. I attended Ames High School 2008-2012. I LOVED my freshman and sophomore year in high school. Everything was fun the dances, sporting events, school activities, classes, friends, teachers, everything was perfect. Junior and Senior year was just a big disappointment. I really just dragged those years in boredom and confusion in what and why am i at this high school. Somehow the school managed to change the system. it might be because they hired a new principal, new rules, new everything. I don't understand, everything was great about the high school. Why change it? i feel bad for all the students who didn't attend Ames High School before the Fall of 2011. They will never experience fully what high school is all about. It's all about fun, creating new opportunities, an experience in your life, and as well as learning and preparing for your future. My days in high school are long gone now, but i will always remember my experience here. Former Student of Ames High Always a Little Cyclone

Ames High School 4

Posted July 21, 2012
- a parent
We have three children who have graduated from AHS and for the most part we have been happy with their education. All three of our children have different interests and all three were able to find something to get involved in at the school. The school does a pretty good job with challenging the brighter students but the regular classes for the average students set the bar too low. There are some really good teachers at the school but there are also teachers who are uninspriring and even lazy. A big complaint for us is that the students did not get to keep their test papers. One reason was that the teachers were afraid future students would have access to these and cheat. A lazy teacher re-uses the same tests year to year. The good teachers know how to tweak a test so that it wouldn't matter.

Ames High School 5

Posted February 15, 2012
- a student
Yes, this school has students that smoke, students that drink, that do drugs, skip class, and students that just don't care, but every school has these things I guarantee that. The faculty however has been taking steps to change this and to make AHS the best it can be both athletics and in the classroom. Because we live in a college town (ISU) I believe that most of the families see the importance of education and raise their children as such. That's why being an average student here is so difficult what with a 3.2 GPA average, i think that's right. The students at AHS that are great are the students that aspire to succeed. They take it upon themselves to push themselves in the classroom or on the field, creatively and artistically, with the help of dedicated teachers with different styles of teaching all to help with the student's learning process. As a student of AHS I see students that have that drive on top of the class, involved with clubs, sports, friends, keeping their days jammed packed because they love it.


Ames High School 3

Posted September 24, 2011
- a student
Everyone thinks that this is a great school, but as a student I think that it's not as good as everyone thinks. There are a lot of people skipping class, failing and not caring, smoking, drinking, doing drugs, etc. The school doesn't address any of these things. We've never had anti-drug weeks or assemblies or anything.

Ames High School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
We've got some of the most creative, talented students in the country. As an alumnus, I want to see this creativity be used for it's greatest potential.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ames High School
1921 Ames High Dr, Ames, IA  50010
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (515) 817-0600
Last modified Ames High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top