Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lourdes Catholic School

Private | PK-8

Great Class Size (16 students per class)

 
 

Living in Bettendorf

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $148,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 16, 2014

Lourdes Catholic School is the perfect choice for a faith based education. Religion is taught in all classroom, students attend weekly Mass, Spanish is offered in all grade levels, Voweletics is offered as the reading program, strong academics, small class sizes, strong sports program, many extra-curricular activites, and strong parental involvement are just a few reasons to chose this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2014

We currently have 3 kids at Lourdes, with our 4th just finishing 9th grade (attended Lourdes through 8th). We have been extremely happy with Lourdes for many reasons. The academics are strong (average test scores at Lourdes show this), class sizes are small, faculty are very caring and hard working, and there is a strong focus on faith. I would recommend Lourdes to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2014

My child just finished kindergarten at Lourdes and loved it! They offer art, PE,and music twice a week along with computer, library, Spanish, guidance, and Mass once a week. Can you believe that's all in kindergarten?! They have a great phonics program, and staff to work with students who are struggling, accelerated, and starting next year- a special education teacher! My child loved going to school each day. It's a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2014

I have had four kids go through Lourdes Catholic School with the youngest just finishing 7th grade. Her older sister is a junior in High School and is excelling. Her two older brothers excelled in High School and our now doing the same in College. Lourdes did a great job preparing my kids for the next levels of their education. Lourdes also provided a great atmosphere not only to learn but to grow and mature. The investment we made to send out jids to Lourdes was worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2014

I have a child who is an accelerated learner and one that struggles quite a bit. With its creative and seasoned teachers, small class sizes, and supportive atmosphere, Lourdes is able to accommodate both children beautifully- proven with standardized test score far above national, state and even community scores. Its a warm, welcoming, inclusive school that provides my children with an exceptional education, varied extracurricular activities and a firm moral foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2014

This is such a great school!!! I am so happy to have my kids at Lourdes!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Academic excellence, strong teachers, lots of opportunities for the kids. It is a very supportive environment for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2013

This is an excellent school. My children attend it and so did I. The poor comment is the furthest thing from the truth. In 2007, the principal went above and beyond for me. She did her job very well. She was very caring and compassionate. Compare the test scores between Lourdes Catholic School and the public schools. That speaks for itself!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2012

Th school has a tremendous track record for academics. Their state scores outshine the local public schools. They have small class sizes and dedicated staff. They did just undergo a change in principal, which is sad, because Katie Selden was an excellent academic leader and put the school on the right track. They have a specific preschool for 5 year old kids, who are just a bit too young for kindergarten, but don't want to repeat Pre-K. The first grade teaching team is superb. It's good school, and good community to be a part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2011

My children attend this school and we love it. The academics are excellent, teachers are caring, and it's a strong faith-based education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2010

My son is currently in the preschool program at Lourdes and we have been happy with the school so far. As a graduate of a different Catholic elementary school in Davenport, I found Lourdes to be much more welcoming than others. The marketing coordinator is resourceful and the teachers are very helpful. We just moved back to the Quad Cities after being gone for 2 years and are very happy with our decision to have our son attend Lourdes. They are very accomadating with their Little Lancer House which is a blessing to parents. Most of us nowadays have dual working parents and I am relieved that my son is cared for while I am away teaching other children by such wonderful, dedicated staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

The above review is an unfair portrayal by someone with an agenda. Lourdes is an excellent school where a sense of community and faith are evident. The biggest challenge for Lourdes is having to compete with the public schools in the district. The intangibles offered in the form of faith based education, teachers you know are passionate about education (since they could make more money in public schools), small class sizes, and a sense of community more than make up for this. The new principal at Lourdes is leading this school in a direction of excellence. Look at the Lourdes website, check out the scores and know you are making a solid decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

I had my children enrolled at Lourdes for 2.5 years. In that time, my son fell way behind in math, even though he is perfectly capable of his work. We put him in sylvan and he caught up quickly. The principal also has little patience with kids who occasionally act out and did not make us feel welcome in the school. The change to public school has been tremendous, and we feel like we 'fit in.'
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 81%
Hispanic 4% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Davenport
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$2000 - $3000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1453 Mississippi Boulevard
Bettendorf, IA 52722
Phone: (563) 359-3466

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rivermont Collegiate
Bettendorf, IA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT