Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
2-6
Public district
Boone, IA
Students enrolled: 106
 

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


United Community South 5

Posted June 27, 2014
- a parent
Pros: Safe environment; strong sense of belonging and community; small enough for staff to pay close attention to individual students and their needs; availability of 'specials' like PE, art, computers, and music beginning in preschool; separation of younger and older elementary students in two wings of the building promotes an overall tranquility, with interaction between the age groups for activities like "reading buddies"; dedicated and involved principal who knows the students, families, and teachers well, is open and responsive to feedback, and works tirelessly to serve the school and its students; active PTA with a generally involved parent body; affordable and convenient before/after & summer childcare that includes some of the daytime staff with which young students are already familiar. Cons: Although the property includes a prairie and wooded area, free play is restricted to artificial structures with gravel and concrete which seems like a missed opportunity to me; school utilizes multiple reward systems per grade (often including candy and food treats); teacher quality can vary, but performance is monitored closely with guidance where needed.

United Community South 5

Posted July 07, 2013
- a parent
My 3 kids have attended United since Preschool. It is the best school in this area. They offer so much that other local schools dont: They have awesome grounds with an outdoor classroom and praire.The have daycare options including before, after, and summer care. They have small class sizes, great staff, awesome lunches cooked on sight. A very active PTO that supports many fun things for the kids. We love our school and open enroll to get to it. I highly recommend anyone in the Boone/Ames area look into it.


United Community South 4

Posted April 03, 2013
- a parent
This school is awesome. The principal/superintendent is very committed to the kids and involved with them on a daily basis. We had our kids (twins) in the Ames School District and moved the kids out to United for first grade. We feel it is more friendly and personal. The school lunches are better quality as they are made from scratch by a cook, rather than shipped in from a supplier. We get P.E. and art twice a week, rather than once as in the Ames School District. Very happy.

United Community South 1

Posted August 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

United Community South 5

Posted March 12, 2007
- a parent
I cannot say enough about United Community School in Boone, IA. My son, whom excels in Math and Science has had some difficulty with reading. He did not slip through the cracks, but instead has been given the opportunity to receive special attention. I feel if he were attending a larger school he would not have had this opportunity since he is on the border line, and may have gotten 'lost' and fallen behind his classmates. The school is small enough that all of the adult staff know each child, and the children know other children not in their classrooms. After the first month of school they feel and act like a small family. The teaching staff is wonderful! The students also have daily opportunities to learn in computer lab, physical education, guidance, art, music, and the outdoor prairie can be used for multiple learning opps!


United Community South 5

Posted March 09, 2006
- a parent
This small school stands out in a big way. We currently have 3 children enrolled at united, and our 4 is a junior that attended united. The quality and standard of education far surpasses that of much larger schools. The student to teacher ratio provides children with much needed one on one attention. I highly recommend this school to everyone.

United Community South 5

Posted June 22, 2004
- a parent
My son has had the most wonderful experiences at United. The teachers are excellent and he has excelled in all subjects and looks forward to going to school each day. We feel very fortunate to have our child in such a wonderful school.

United Community South 5

Posted March 13, 2004
- a teacher
United Community is a rare find. It is a small country school that really cares about our children and the quality of their education. We would highly recommend this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

United Community South
1284 U Ave, Boone, IA  50036
(515) 432-5319
Last modified United Community South is a Public school that serves grades 2-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
United Community South Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top