Advertisement
Advertisement

Great River Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 119 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Burlington

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $72,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $612.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 26, 2011

I'm glad I chose for my daughter to go here. I'm sorry I didn't make the decision along time ago. I love the small classes. What's the best is they keep Jesus in school. Also there is no violence like what's in public school. It is very family oriented. They do alot of volunteering out in the community. All children need to be taught to think and do for others. My only complaint is that all of the children should have to wear uniforms in all grades not just 7th thru 12th.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

Absolutly love the school. Great teachers, wonderful principle....you chidren will get the best from this school. My kids attended this school ages pre-k - 4th. We moved to AZ 2 years ago and a day doesn't go by when I wished we lived in Burlington again so my kids could go back. The education they receive now is no where near the standards of IA, not to mention how afforable it is at GRCS. Be thankful !!! I now realize what an asset this school is and how great they are.......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2010

GRCS is by far the greatest school our daughter has attended. The small classroom and school size makes for great one-on-one attention from our fantastic teachers. Never before have we been treated like one of the family as we have here! If ever a student is troubled by learning or personal problems, it's taken care of with love and respect. You just don't find that in many schools anymore. To any parent searching for the greatest academic learning for their child should give Great River Christian School a call!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2006

The children are taught in a loving environment with teachers who care that they succeed. Parents are encouraged to be a part of the teaching process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2004

Our little one attended GRCS last yr before moving away. I give the school the top most rating. It is such a great school with the most loving and caring teachers/staff. I feel our little one is so far ahead now that she is in public school. We miss the school and the school family a bunch! The best lesson they teach is the love for jesus christ!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2004

Great school! Students have dedicated teachers that are there for the kids and not the money. School uses beka school material which is several years ahead of public schools. And the most important thing, they put jesus first.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 86%
Asian 2% 1%
Black 1% 4%
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (319) 753-2030

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

426 Harrison Ave
Burlington, IA 52601
Website: Click here
Phone: (319) 753-2255

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT