Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Aquin Catholic Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 273 students

Aquin is known for providing a comprehensive Catholic education to all!

 
 

Living in Cascade

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $100,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $530.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 19 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

Aquin is a home away from home. Aquin is a place where all three of our children have not only received exceptional academics, but more importantly, they have learned what it means to be an exceptional PERSON. Aquin is a place where they principal is visible, the secretary is nurturing, and the teachers truly see their students as 'somebody's son or daughter', not just pupils. Aquin is a place where our friends and families also put their trust in a Catholic education. Aquin is a school full of happy times; full of people that pray for our family and support us during sad times. Aquin will soon become a memory for our third child, just as it has become for his sisters, however Aquin will always be one of the bests gifts we have ever given them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Wonderful school to teach at. My five children also attended and graduated from Aquin. They loved being part of the Aquin family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 8, 2014

Aquin is a great place! Our kids are learning the necessary academics as well as how to be good people and life long learners!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

Great school all around, teachers work closely with parents to provide a top-notch education to all students while kids also learn great Christian values at the same time. I would highly recommend this school to others!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

Aquin Catholic Elementary School is an excellent school and I would not send my kids anywhere else! Mrs. O'Brien rocks!!!


Posted April 3, 2014

Aquin provided a fantastic experience for my two sons. Both started in preschool and went to Aquin through 8th grade. They loved their teachers and the many innovative and energizing learning activities they employed, and they made lifelong friends. Both kids had very successful high school experiences because of the excellent preparation they got at Aquin. My oldest was among the top in his graduating class academically; my youngest excelled in athletics at the state level. Aquin is committed to providing education that addresses the holistic needs of the students. They promote learning that creates strong leaders and citizens. It was our good fortune to have such a fabulous school in our community. Aquin is very deserving of the Great Schools designation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Aquin is a great school. They have great staff and are always willing to help in any way possible. The teachers always keep in contact with the parents on the students progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Aquin is a Catholic School that provides a caring and nurturing environment to include day care, and preschool through 8th grade children. Our classrooms provide individualized instruction for students with a small student teacher ratio. Students learn how to respect and care for each other, their families, and their community with many service opportunities during the school year. We continue to provide the technology needed to meet the demands of the 21st century, but are always working to add more. There is tremendous support from our staff, parents, and community which helps our students to thrive and succeed as they move on to their career paths.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 25, 2013

Aquin is an excellent facility for both staff and students. I am a teacher at this school and can honestly say that I have never seen such caring in a school system as I have here. I have worked in both public and parochial schools, and I have found that the religious and moral education that students receive here enhances responsibility, respect, and ownership of action. From a parent standpoint, I feel that my children are receiving a high-quality education and are pushed to their appropriate achievement levels. Their teachers address concerns with me and take appropriate action. I can't imagine working anywhere else or sending my children to any other school than Aquin.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 25, 2013

My son just started Kindergarten this year. Jon and I were so nervous about his big adventure. When we walked into the school children were holding doors open for one another, saying hello, and good morning. This is how we start our morning, and loved that is was a warm and welcoming place for our family. Staff greeted us with our names, and we had not even met them yet. Mr. Haverland made sure that we felt comfortable. Mrs. McDermott, my sons teacher, must have had a feeling that "I" was nervous because she emailed me a picture of William having an amazing time his first day of school. Aquin has been an amazing adventure for my family and I. My daughter is so excited to be joining the Aquin family next year. My husband and I are excited for the growth and development within our family because of Aquin. My grandma has a saying up in her kitchen that stated, "a family that prays together, stays together." We believe that because we picked Aquin our children will be stronger in situations that most children are weak. Thank you Aquin!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Our four daughters are very happy at Aquin. We are pleased with the attention they receive there! Small class sizes is a big plus!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Wonderful people and a warm feeling! I Highly recommend this school! Our children love it there and I am very happy with the quality of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Aquin has top notch caring teachers that challenge every child to the best of their ability. Highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

I am a huge fan of Aquin and have been for many years. I actually was a student at Aquin many years ago. What makes Aquin a great school is the love of the teachers and their passion for our students learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

Aquin is a great school to send your kids to. Currently we have three children enrolled. Aquin is just the right size...it's big enough that they can offer a wide array of opportunities for the kids, yet small enough that they can have small class sizes and focus on each individual student's needs. I firmly believe that catholic education is essential to building a strong foundation for children that will help them succeed & make good, ethical decisions throughout their life. Aquin does a terrific job starting that important foundation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

Aquin is a great school all around! The teachers provide excellent one on one time if needed by a child. I am truly blessed to have such a great school to send out kids to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

Aquin is a great school. I feel my children are getting a wonderful education. The staff is great to work with and my kids enjoy going to school each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

Aquin is a top notch school!! I went to Aquin and I am so happy to send my children there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

I attended this school as well as my children and am grateful for the Catholic education they receive. This school has wonderful caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

We have a great school with very caring teachers who go the extra mile to help the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 81%
Hispanic 4% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Television/Radio News

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Jeffrey A. Haverland
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Special education
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Cognitive disability
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Technology club
  • Television/Radio News
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$1000 - $2000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Cascade High School (Cascade, Public)
Beckman High School (Dyersville, Catholic)
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

608 3rd Avenue Northwest
Cascade, IA 52033
Website: Click here
Phone: (563) 852-3331

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Paul School
Worthington, IA



Sacred Heart School
Monticello, IA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT