Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cedar Falls High School

Public | 10-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 20, 2012

We moved here from a small town full service high school. Peers groups are better, teacher quality is roughly the same and administration and support are rigid, unfriendly, uncoordinated and difficult. If you need any accommodations, plan for a battle and hope for the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2011

We moved here from Texas and had no idea where to enroll my son in 11th grade-so happy we ended up in this school district-he loves this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2011

This is a great school. My son will be graduating this year and his counselors have been VERY helpful with college scholarships and filling out applications. It is because of his great education in the Cedar Falls School District (which has earned him good grades and a great ACT score) that he will be going to college and will not have to take out any loans. The school calls me if I forget to call when he is going to miss school. I can check online at any time and see what his grades are and if he is handing in assignments. I can not say enough good things about the schools in Cedar Falls!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

I'm a former student of CFHS. I loved going there. The teachers were amazing, sports team coaches were great to work with and there were plenty of extra curricular activities to be involved in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2009

I'm a student and a Junior at CFHS. I hated the middle school of Holmes, but going to CF made me actually like school. It's so nice there. They don't hound you to do things where as it's just so relaxed that you can concentrate, do well, and not feel pressured at the same time. I love it there :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2009

I can not say enough about CF. The entire staff at this school go above and beyond, they are professional yet I feel like it is a relaxed learning enviroment with staff that seems very happy to be there. Keep up the fabulous work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

I have been going to Cedar Falls High for about 2 semesters now, and I find it to be a pretty nice school. The classes were a little hard to catch up on, but all around I am doing well now. This school has a wide variety of classes and extra activities that I can explore until I graduate. I recommend this school to kids who want to go to college, and live in the Cedar Falls District. Go Tigers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2006

My wife and I were fortuneate to have both our daughters graduate from Cedar Falls High School. This school has a well-rounded program with strong offerings in the core areas which include AP courses and Dual Credit courses that allow students to either test out of college work or gain credits at the college level while in high school. Successful athletic and activity programs are recognized around the state. My daughters were involved in athletics, but I would not have hesitated should they have chosen music, speech, or theater. Cedar Falls staff and administration work to challenge students to be the best they can be. School to work programs were available for students wishing to get on the job training their senior year. Programs included Trades &Industries/Health Occupations, DECA, Business Professionals and Foods Coop. I have been impressed by the support the community has provided for Cedar Falls High School
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted August 20, 2005

Through the work-release program I got my foot in the door of my chosen profession and had a leg up on my associates as I gained more experience. I am grateful to this school for instilling a love of learning, of reading of doing the best I can. The extra things in choirs and poetry classes gave me a chance to shine and discover part of who I am. I have been able to develop talents I may not have had an opportunity to. I feel I am much happier person and more rounded and able to care for my family and encouraged them where I wasn't previously. I know the value of a great education I was very lucky to have one.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 18, 2004

We brought our two children from a top rated Illinois school to the Cedar Falls school. They were both very challenged to 'catch' up. One has since graduated and we feel he was much more prepared for college by attending Cedar Falls. Our daughter is still enrolled and finding it a busy place between academics and all the other activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2003

I went to Cedar Falls High School and just adored every year there. I would suggest it to any family trying to find a well-rounded and strong academic school. I was involved in so many extracurricular activities and received a wonderful education. I am now an education major at Iowa State and I am doing a school profile of the school I would like to work at, and I have chosen Cedar Falls. I would definitely love to work there someday and hopefully fulfill and instill in my students, the strong ongoing tradition the high school has provided for the Cedar Falls Community, for so many years.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

313 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2013.

313 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White87%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial86%
White91%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 81%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Hispanic 3% 9%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A39%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1015 Division St
Cedar Falls, IA 50613
Phone: (319) 553-2500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Valley Lutheran School
Cedar Falls, IA



West High School
Waterloo, IA


East High School
Waterloo, IA


Expo High School
Waterloo, IA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT