Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Xavier High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Cedar Rapids

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $216,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2011

Not going to lie, I wasn't expecting to like Xavier. I actually wanted to go to a different, public, high school because a school like Xavier I thought was too uptown for my family. I was completely wrong lol! I have tons of friends here, everyone is nice, teachers are good (not the best but very nice), academics are a little harder but you'll manage if you study enough. It's pretty awesome here, not too big and not too small. The lunches are AMAZING here too. It's a race to get to lunch every day, that's how good the cooks are. My little brother is going here when he's old enough. No questions asked.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 9, 2011

A character assination school which acheives mediocre academics given the amount of money poured into it.


Posted December 21, 2010

The BEST school I could ever hope to go to. Through my time at Xavier I have come to be a more complete person in every aspect of my life. Academically, Xavier ranks among the best in the state. The atmosphere there is incredible positive and supportive. The music and athletic programs are also among the elite anywhere. Catholicism permeates throughout the entire school and Christ's presence is felt everywhere. I could not imagine having gone anywhere else and I will certainly send my children to Xavier in the future. However, anyone should know that even though the high school is fantastic, sometimes the Xavier community (high school and middle school parents) is arrogant and full of themselves. They think they are more important then the school they support. But, don't let this dissuade you from sending your children there. The high school community is amazing and unique in the state.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2010

I love Xavier High School. I know im only a Freshman but so far it's truly great. My sister is a senior. Everything is top notch!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 8, 2009

An excellent school academically. Athletics take a priority at the expense of other programs and some students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

Terrible teachers and academics, not a good place to go if you want to challenge yourself!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 7, 2007

Academic program: you dont have to be in the xaviers upper half of gpa to go to college, the colleges see what a great school it is and send there children there, (2) Sports illustrated ranked Xavier the top Athletic school in the State in 2007, xavier has one 8 state championships this year for athletics, (3) parent involvement is HUGE, the parents as well also sign a pledge card involving them with the xavier kids e.g: not to serve alcohol, not to have parties without parents, homework, drugs and narcotics,drinking,workinghard etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2005

This is among the best high schools in the midwest. They are student centered, with high expectations. Most importantly the faith element is stressed and is lived by the staff. My student could not be better prepared for the rigors of college.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 81%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Black 2% 5%
Hispanic 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Dubuque
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6300 42nd Street Northeast
Cedar Rapids, IA 52411
Phone: (319) 294-6635

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Metro High School
Cedar Rapids, IA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT