Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


George Washington High School 5

Posted February 15, 2012
- a community member
Has a lot of programs for students to join. Teachers care about the students. Principal is great.

George Washington High School
no rating

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
I attended Washing High, graduating in '88. The teachers made an imprint that changed my life for the better. A special thanks to Mrs. Renk and Gary Benesh for being the most memorable teachers of my life.


George Washington High School 5

Posted August 17, 2010
- a student
I loved Wash so much that I wanted to keep on going even after I graduated. They have Wonderful Teachers and a Great Music Program. The one thing I loved the most was Mrs. Adams' Academic clubs.

George Washington High School
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a community member
George Washington High is a very diverse school with compassionate teachers and well-rounded students.

George Washington High School 5

Posted December 22, 2007
- a student
It was an amazing school to go to! I still feel at home when I walk in those doors 5 years later. The teachers were great -- but more importantly the whole environment to achieve and do something while you were there is amazing. I was huge into theatre/show choir and also did sports for a couple of years. The choices for any type of after school club and all the AP classes you could ever want along with early bird class choices to be able to take all those other classes you want but don't have time for! I more or less lived there for 4 years and loved it all!


George Washington High School 5

Posted October 19, 2007
- a student
I loved Wash so much that i didn't want to leave. I visit the teachers/counselors often. I love the diversity that no other school has. We have a whole week to celebrate it where we get to try authentic foods from other cultures. also there is a fashion show, and people really get in to it. It is really exciting.

George Washington High School 1

Posted April 25, 2007
- a parent
Be warned. This school cares more about its Blue Ribbon rating than the safety of its students.

George Washington High School 5

Posted September 23, 2006
- a parent
We open enrolled from Marion school district because Wash is more academically rigorus.This is the first time in several years my child has been challenged academically. Their AP classes as well as the rest of the offered classes are taught by top teachers who care about the students. My student's counselor, band teachers and teachers were welcoming and caring people. My daughter was encouraged to try any class at any level she wanted to and if that didn't work out she could drop down to the next level classes. The people at this school believe in their students and encourage them to stretch themselves academecally and in other endevors. The AP classes are taught by teachers in a classroom setting -not by a guide and computers. The band instructors are wonderful. Your child will have wonderful opportunities if they attend this school and make wonderful friends. Parents are wecomed.


George Washington High School 5

Posted May 07, 2006
- a parent
Our experience with Washington HS has been terrific. I have a daughter that graduated in 2004 and is an outstanding leader in her college, a current senior who will be attending ISU in the fall and a son who still attends Wash. They are all very different. At Wash, there is such an opportunity for our children to create balance between the arts, sports and academics. They are free to find out who they are, who they want to be and to become that person. The sports programs are competetive but not win at all costs, the academics are challenging and the music and arts are a cornerstone. I have found that the majority of students feel comfortable wearing many of these hats and therefore are not 'labelled'. The opportunity to become involved as a parent is endless and welcomed. I feel blessed with the staff that have touched our lives.

George Washington High School 5

Posted April 20, 2005
- a parent
Washington High School in Cedar Rapids offers a fantastic high school experience. Our daughter who's a freshman in college feels she was extremely well prepared. Washington offers the highest number of AP courses in the state. Has excellent instructors -- who seem more like professors at a small private college. We have two daughters currently in high school and have found that instructors, counselors and coaches to be very actively involved in the school and in improving the lives of our children. The school has diverse population of students and so the atmosphere is more real world than you can find many places in Iowa. The principal is a great leader and endorses wuch retreat programs open to all students such as a leadership retreat and a cultural diversity retreat. We just love the structured yet flexible and caring, success-oriented environment. We can't imagine a better experience for our children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

George Washington High School
2205 Forest Dr SE, Cedar Rapids, IA  52403
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (319) 558-2161
Last modified George Washington High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top