Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Cedar Rapids, IA
Students enrolled: 1,517

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thomas Jefferson High School 5

Posted March 22, 2014
- a community member
Jefferson has always had a proud tradition of excellence and high standards for the westside community. The school is currently going through a face lift and is poising itself to be among the elite schools in the city and state for the coming years.

Thomas Jefferson High School 5

Posted February 22, 2013
- a teacher
I am proud to be part of Jefferson's faculty. We deeply care about our kids and work tirelessly on a daily basis to meet a tremendous amount of need. Sometimes the need is too great to address with the limited resources at our disposal (time, student to teacher/counselor/associate principal ratio) but I can say with absolute sincerity that we work with every ounce of energy that we possess to do what is right by our kids. There are many areas for improvement AND we also have a lot to be proud of due to our dedicated students, parents, community members and staff.


Thomas Jefferson High School 4

Posted October 05, 2009
- a student
or sports aren't the best but the fine arts show that we are one to compete with and the teachers are hard working and caring about or school work and many if you have problems at home

Thomas Jefferson High School 0
no rating

Posted September 30, 2009
- a student
As a current student at Jefferson, I know the school is not a leader in any of the physical sports they compete in and the fine arts program is still terrific if I may add. But the current sophomores, as one of them, are doing terrific at their sports and once they hit the varsity team, Jefferson will be a better school to play and next year the other schools will be surprised.

Thomas Jefferson High School 0
no rating

Posted February 04, 2009
- a student
Jefferson tries to be a good school with many good to great teachers the reality is it has come under some hard times with student behavior and student achievement. The current sports program is average at best and fine arts have lost its way. Advanced Placement scholars are only 5 compared to Washington and Kennedy's many honored students


Thomas Jefferson High School 4

Posted August 03, 2008
- a student
As mentioned before, Jefferson has a fantastic athletic program and an excellent fine arts program. These programs add so much to someone's experience there, and the staff encourage participation in all activities. Academics are also a major aspect to the school, and students who are willing to put in the time and effort into their classes are sure to do well. Jefferson's academic decathalon has performed amazingly, earning third at nationals most recently (I must also mention that they've won 11 out of 12 attempts at the state championships since 1997). At Jefferson I've found that the more involved you are, the better the experience.

Thomas Jefferson High School 5

Posted March 25, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Thomas Jefferson High School 5

Posted May 24, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Thomas Jefferson High School 5

Posted May 27, 2005
- a parent
The culture of the school is outstanding. The most impressive thing is that the last few years has seen a budding resurgance of its athletic programs. The fine arts programs are excellent but statewide prestige is truly garnered from athletic excellence, because it measures the heart of a school. If you are a parent who wants their child to learn cooperation, tolerance, and be nurtured in a truly caring environment, not one of falsely inflated prestige or social dichotomies than Jefferson clearly stands out above the other Cedar Rapids High Schools, in particular the more suburban, newer schools.

Thomas Jefferson High School 5

Posted April 21, 2005
- a former student
Jefferson High School does have a fine performing arts program. But aside from that they have high and ever improving achedemics. The principals there stay involved with the kids and can be seen out and about in the halls conversing with them and the teachers are always there when someone needs help.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thomas Jefferson High School
1243 20th St SW, Cedar Rapids, IA  52404
(319) 558-2435
Last modified Thomas Jefferson High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thomas Jefferson High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top