Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Cedar Rapids, IA
Students enrolled: 1,517
 

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

10 reviews of this school


Thomas Jefferson High School 5

Posted March 22, 2014
- a community member
Jefferson has always had a proud tradition of excellence and high standards for the westside community. The school is currently going through a face lift and is poising itself to be among the elite schools in the city and state for the coming years.

Thomas Jefferson High School 5

Posted February 22, 2013
- a teacher
I am proud to be part of Jefferson's faculty. We deeply care about our kids and work tirelessly on a daily basis to meet a tremendous amount of need. Sometimes the need is too great to address with the limited resources at our disposal (time, student to teacher/counselor/associate principal ratio) but I can say with absolute sincerity that we work with every ounce of energy that we possess to do what is right by our kids. There are many areas for improvement AND we also have a lot to be proud of due to our dedicated students, parents, community members and staff.


Thomas Jefferson High School 4

Posted October 05, 2009
- a student
or sports aren't the best but the fine arts show that we are one to compete with and the teachers are hard working and caring about or school work and many if you have problems at home

Thomas Jefferson High School
no rating

Posted September 30, 2009
- a student
As a current student at Jefferson, I know the school is not a leader in any of the physical sports they compete in and the fine arts program is still terrific if I may add. But the current sophomores, as one of them, are doing terrific at their sports and once they hit the varsity team, Jefferson will be a better school to play and next year the other schools will be surprised.

Thomas Jefferson High School
no rating

Posted February 04, 2009
- a student
Jefferson tries to be a good school with many good to great teachers the reality is it has come under some hard times with student behavior and student achievement. The current sports program is average at best and fine arts have lost its way. Advanced Placement scholars are only 5 compared to Washington and Kennedy's many honored students


Thomas Jefferson High School 4

Posted August 03, 2008
- a student
As mentioned before, Jefferson has a fantastic athletic program and an excellent fine arts program. These programs add so much to someone's experience there, and the staff encourage participation in all activities. Academics are also a major aspect to the school, and students who are willing to put in the time and effort into their classes are sure to do well. Jefferson's academic decathalon has performed amazingly, earning third at nationals most recently (I must also mention that they've won 11 out of 12 attempts at the state championships since 1997). At Jefferson I've found that the more involved you are, the better the experience.

Thomas Jefferson High School 5

Posted May 27, 2005
- a parent
The culture of the school is outstanding. The most impressive thing is that the last few years has seen a budding resurgance of its athletic programs. The fine arts programs are excellent but statewide prestige is truly garnered from athletic excellence, because it measures the heart of a school. If you are a parent who wants their child to learn cooperation, tolerance, and be nurtured in a truly caring environment, not one of falsely inflated prestige or social dichotomies than Jefferson clearly stands out above the other Cedar Rapids High Schools, in particular the more suburban, newer schools.

Thomas Jefferson High School 5

Posted April 21, 2005
- a student
Jefferson High School does have a fine performing arts program. But aside from that they have high and ever improving achedemics. The principals there stay involved with the kids and can be seen out and about in the halls conversing with them and the teachers are always there when someone needs help.


Thomas Jefferson High School 5

Posted November 26, 2004
- a student
Jefferson is an excellent school with a very prominent Fine Arts department and a very good reputation for an education level of it's students that are above the standard. The school has recieved the Blue Ribbon Award twice, as well as many Fine Awards. Sometimes the size of the school isn't large enough for the quantity of students, but it isn't a large enough problem that needs immediate fixing. The school recently had two new additions, being a new Fine Arts wing, and also a new Science wing.

Thomas Jefferson High School 2

Posted September 09, 2004
- a parent
I think Jefferson High school is a great school. Besides a lot of the kids there dont know when to stop. and theres a lot of fights the prinncle is not that good.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thomas Jefferson High School
1243 20th St SW, Cedar Rapids, IA  52404
(319) 558-2435
Last modified Thomas Jefferson High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thomas Jefferson High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top