Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Welcome to Whittier Elementary School! We pride ourselves on our high-achieving students and our dedicated, hard-working staff. Our parents and families are our greatest supporters, and we appreciate the many hours our family members volunteer time in classrooms, the LRC, at lunch and during activities in conjunction with our outstanding PTA. Our parents, students, staff and community are proud of Whittier School! At Whittier we believe all students can learn and achieve at high levels. We educate the "whole" child through our instructional and social/behavioral supports. Our school environment is built based upon PBIS (Positive Behavior Intervention Supports) and very high expectations for students and staff to learn at high levels. I invite you to call me (563-243-3230, email me (brkenney@clintonia.org) or visit me in person if I can help you in any way!
March 02, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
My son is in his last year at Whittier, and we are so proud to have called it our school. I'm grateful for their amazing faculty and staff, they've helped my son realize his own potential and given him a desire to succeed. Best public elementary school in Clinton!

Whittier Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 05, 2015
- a parent
This is my sons last year at whittier and he has never had too much homework. The teachers have been really good about not over loading them.


Whittier Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 05, 2015
- a parent
All the teachers and staff care about each kid in Whittier. My son has loved each one of his teachers.

Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2015
- a parent
Whittier is an awesome school. This is my sons last year. He starts middle school next year and we are going to miss Whittier. The teachers and staff are wonderful. Mr Kenney the principal is great with the kids. He is at the front door every morning to greet the kids and out there again after school. The crossing guards are great too. Cant say enough good things about this school.

Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2015
- a parent
Great school, great teachers, great staff, great kids, our family loves Whittier! Love to see principal out greeting students each morning!


Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2015
- a parent
Love love love!!!!!!! #1 school, staff, and kids in Clinton. Principal os wonderful. The PTA is great and does a lot for the school.

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Welcome to Whittier Elementary School! We pride ourselves on our high-achieving students and our dedicated, hard-working staff. Our parents and families are our greatest supporters, and we appreciate the many hours our family members volunteer time in classrooms, the LRC, at lunch and during activities in conjunction with our outstanding PTA. Our parents, students, staff and community are proud of Whittier School! At Whittier we believe all students can learn and achieve at high levels. We educate the "whole" child through our instructional and social/behavioral supports. Our school environment is built based upon PBIS (Positive Behavior Intervention Supports) and very high expectations for students and staff to learn at high levels. I invite you to call me (563-243-3230, email me (brkenney@clintonia.org) or visit me in person if I can help you in any way!
Posted March 02, 2015

Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2015
- a parent
Two of our children began elementary school in a small private school, when they were going into 2nd & 5th grade, we made the decision to enroll them in our local school district. We have never looked back. We can not say enough about how wonderful our experience has been at Whittier. All three of our children have had amazing teachers who truly care about them and their academic success. We love Whittier and the Clinton Community School District!


Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2015
- a parent
Whittier Elementary has been wonderful for my son, who has had struggles due to ADHD. Every year, (he's in 4th grade now), he has shown amazing improvement, and this is due in part to the exceptional teachers and staff who work with him daily towards success. I am promptly notified of any issues and/or accomplishments my son is having, and have had excellent communication with everyone involved in his school life. It's this perfect team effort with my son that has led to him not only meeting his IEP goals, but to surpass them and literally SOAR above, allowing his IEP to be completed! I feel so grateful for having such a wonderful school for my son, and couldn't be happier. Thank you Whittier!!

Whittier Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2015
- a parent
Whittier has an amazing atmosphere, geared toward student learning and their success! The staff always makes themselves known in a kind and caring way to students, parents, and even visitors. They help each child be successful and meet their needs by going above and beyond any expectation.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Whittier Elementary School
1310 2nd Ave South, Clinton, IA  52732
(563) 243-3230
Last modified Whittier Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Whittier Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top