Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lewis & Clark Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 218 students

Our school is best known for holding students to high expectations.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2014

We moved to Council Bluffs just before the 2013-14 school year started, and our daughter is in Kindergarten. To be honest, we had some reservations based on the GreatSchools rating we saw on this website, but now that we've been here, we are so glad we came to Lewis and Clark. Her teacher is absolutely amazing, and you can tell she really cares about the students. They also make sure that the kids are being appropriately challenged. They test the abilities of the students often and adjust the curriculum to meet the needs of each child. They even opened up some first grade level reading when our daughter and 2 others passed out of the normal Kindergarten reading curriculum. The principal and staff are also friendly and approachable for any questions/concerns you may have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

Lewis and Clark is a great neighborhood school within a tight-knit community. The teachers and support staff know every child by name and are dedicated to helping them be the best student they can be. There are very supportive parents who are active volunteers, making the classrooms run more effectively, and allowing for fun extra-curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

Both of our children attend Lewis & Clark. The classes are small, the children are learning a lot, and they're happy. I couldn't ask for a better small school setting for our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2014

Lewis and Clark is an amazing school with GREAT teachers and staff. Everyone is VERY easy to communicate with and helps in any way possible. I have volunteered in my child's classroom several times and each time the principal has always been walking around the school visiting classrooms and guinely cares for the students!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2013

Lewis and Clark has a great school staff and involved parents. The teachers and principal are dedicated and easy to communicate with. Both my children attend Lewis and Clark and are doing very well academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2013

This is our first year at Lewis and Clark and I am amazed at how well the teachers and principal have done to make our family feel welcome! My daughter is thriving and the education she is receiving is exceeding my expectations. Even the nurse is here to greet the kids outside. Mrs. Wymore and Mr. Moran have done an excellent job with my daughters education and answering any questions we have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2013

Lewis & Clark Elementary has a dedicated staff that educates the entire child. The teaching models in place teach all of the students at their instructional level, and provides the learning opportunities for students to reach rigorous learning targets. This is a great place to educate children, and the students are supported by many stakeholders in and outside of the school walls. I am proud to work with our future citizens each day, and Lewis & Clark Elementary is lucky to have a staff that is continually implementing the best teaching practices.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 12, 2013

We have been impressed with Lewis and Clark since our daughter started there 4 years ago. It is a small neighborhood school and I am glad to hear that they are going to renovate it soon. The teachers are all professional and we really feel like our kids are loved in the classroom. The community activities held there are usually well-attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

I could not say enough about Lewis and Clark. It is a neighborhood school, but does its best to provide the opportunities of a large school. We are lucky to have Mr. Milbourne, the current principal, at the school. He has done a lot for the school in the short time he has been there and the added bonus is....he truly cares for each and every student at the school. He knows them by name and a little bit about each one. You could not ask for a better place to sent your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

I love this school! Unfortunately our family is moving from the area so our children will be attending another school next yr, which makes me very sad. I have a 6th grader who has attended Lewis and Clark since K. I also have a 2nd grader and 1st grader we will miss Lewis and Clark very much the staff are the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

Lewis & Clark Elementary is one of the best schools in Council Bluffs. We have been through several schools and I am very grateful we are at Lewis & Clark. The new principal, Mr. Mibourn, is very dedicated and truly concerned for each student. Class sizes are small and everyone is very friendly. Staff here have very good communication skills and actually enjoy what they do. Lewis & Clark Elementary goes the extra mile!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

Although we've been here almost a year, I still have extreme doubts about the effectiveness of this school and its leadership. The lower-grade teachers appear to be good: caring and doing the best they can under difficult (overcrowded & underfunded) circumstances. The principal is new, has not been in such a position before, and it showing. I really like having a neighborhood school that's smaller than the rest of the elementary schools in town. Perhaps the best option would be to entice the retired principal who saved L&C last year to reconsider his retirement. It would be the best investment the school district could make right now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2006

The school is exploding at the seams with children. Teachers rooms are packed, and they stress conformity rather than creativity. They need to bring back last years sub Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2006

I think Lewis and Clark is a wonderful neighborhood school. All of the children know each other and the school has a warm and welcoming atmosphere. I have found that the teachers and other school staff are very supportive, and willing to work with parents especially especially if your child is struggling acedemically or be because of behaviours. I have only found one teacher at Lewis and Clark that I wouldn't rave about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2005

Lewis and Clark is a traditional 'neighborhood' school. Less than 300 students from very small geographical area. Leadership somewhat inonsistant. Now searching for third principal in six years. Due to the presence of a large low income housing complex within the boundries, it seems to have a disproportionate number of 'at risk' kids. Our experience: some of the students suffer because so much emphisis must be placed on discipline and control. Teacher tenure is high. Teachers in the early grades are very nurturing. Teachers in the latter grades seem to sacriafice creativity and individuality for discipline and conformance. The overall quality of basic education is acceptable but not exceptional. Parent support and involvement is difficult to achieve. There is a very strong but small a core of parents take on most of the work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2005

This school is very good for kids that have truouble reading,writing,ect.But still if they ar smart it is a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 81%
Hispanic 7% 9%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A39%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:35 am
School end time
  • 3:35 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Moran
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (712) 328-6563

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Recycling club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Kirn Middles School
Abraham Lincoln Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1603 Grand Ave
Council Bluffs, IA 51503
Website: Click here
Phone: (712) 328-6471

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hoover Elementary School
Council Bluffs, IA



Roosevelt Elementary School
Council Bluffs, IA


Bloomer Elementary School
Council Bluffs, IA


St Albert Catholic Schools
Council Bluffs, IA


St. Albert Middle School
Council Bluffs, IA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT