Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thomas Jefferson High School 5

Posted November 03, 2013
- a parent
The grading scale mentioned in a previous post is a school district wide thing and its at both high schools. Don't let the uneducated posting of someone else shed a bad light on only one school.

Thomas Jefferson High School 2

Posted October 07, 2010
- a parent
Academically, this school has bottomed out. They have a new grading system that has turned F's into D's, D's into C's, and C's into B's. And no one fails. If you have an A student, you wont notice. I've dealt with completion grades (A's on failing work), used to blur the near failing tests scores into looking like some learning is taking place. Classes without enough books for students, so the year is based on a daily handout and what you absorb in class. I encourage all parents to know what's going on with their childs school work. The grades are far from accurately representing what's being learned. Your child will have a very difficult time succeeding in college if they are educated at this school.


Thomas Jefferson High School 0
no rating

Posted March 22, 2010
- a parent
TJ is in desperate need of new leadership. Over the last 4 years (2006-2010) the school has declined drastically. TJ used to have a winning band program. Not any more. TJ used to have a winning drama department. Not any more. TJ used to have a winning speech and debate team. Not any more. It seems the administration has systematically driven off top quality teachers in these areas and hired teachers much less qualified to lead and motivate the students. When I, as a parent, expressed dismay and concern about a rookie teacher being allowed to trash a previously quality program with no apparent supervision, I was driven away by the principal and the activities director. It is clear TJ admin cares only about boys football and basketballs and has no real regard for the role arts play in producing quality, well-rounded adults.

Thomas Jefferson High School 5

Posted March 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Thomas Jefferson High School 0
no rating

Posted March 06, 2008
- a student
Thomas jeferson has many great characteristics and well as some bad ones. TJ has a very good teaching staff and offers the most HES and AP classes of any school in Council Bluffs. Currently students are working on changing the culture of the student body here at TJ to get kids more envolved and to get clubs like fine arts more recognition. Also it is under going construction and the school is really starting to look great. You will see some big changes around here and I feel it is a great school for parents to send their kids.


Thomas Jefferson High School 1

Posted June 24, 2007
- a community member
All of my siblings, including myself, went to Thomas Jefferson. My younger sister is still attending. I believe that TJ is a terrible school. Yes, most young kids love sports, but it is very hard for them to base their entire future on it, but that is what TJ emphasizes the most. Fine Arts are barely recognized by the staff.

Thomas Jefferson High School 5

Posted May 08, 2007
- a parent
I think it is the best. I went there and it was so fun and all the kids are great and kids really get involved as well as moms and dads.I love it there and its a great place for you kids to go.And the teachers a very nice and funny.

Thomas Jefferson High School 1

Posted October 17, 2006
- a student
I attend TJHS and I believe it is one of the worst schools around. The academic programs aren't challenging enough for students. As for the avialability of fine arts programs, we have them, but honestly I don't think anyone cares that they are there. Everyone in the school almost acts like the fine arts programs are a nuisance. Parents just plain and simple do not get involved, partially because TJ has nothing really interesting to offer. So, if you have thought in the past about sending your childrenn to TJ, I highly suggest rethinking that.


Thomas Jefferson High School 5

Posted September 27, 2004
- a student
I attend this high school and I believe it is a wonderful place for kids to learn. There are many opportunities for college classes that the school district will pay for. TJHS also has some of the best teachers in the area.

Thomas Jefferson High School 1

Posted August 10, 2003
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thomas Jefferson High School
2501 West Broadway, Council Bluffs, IA  51501
(712) 328-6493
Last modified Thomas Jefferson High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thomas Jefferson High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews.