Advertisement
Advertisement

Assumption High School

Private | 9-12 | 407 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Davenport

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $97,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2013

You could not pick a better school to send your child to. AHS has diverse and challenging class as well as a fair number of co-credit classes. The class as a whole is small (graduating seniors had 94 total) but creates a great community environment. Transferring was the best decision I've made.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2012

Anyone wishing to teach, stay away from Assumption. The building itself is not up to code (asbestos, pest problems, etc.), the staff who do teach there mostly leave after one year (or less!) and except for a handful of students who are gifted, there are many, many students who are very rude and arrogant. I used to teach there...and I wouldn't go back there even if I was offered a million dollars.


Posted October 12, 2009

a great school. great academics, and extra-curricular activities. the staff are caring and good. my children got a wonderful education in a good christian school. the studnets pray daily, before class, and can go to Mass weekly - as a class, or as a team, or on their own. i recommend to everyone, including students of all faiths


Posted March 21, 2007

Assumption is a great school to send your kids too. I have 2 kids there right now and they could not love it anymore. They are extremely involved with the school. I have a junior and about half of the junior class is involved in National Honor Society. The classes are challenging but with such a low student to teacher ratio the kids can ask for help anytime they need it and still get the personal one-on-one attention as if they were with a tutor. Assumption is a very family-oriented school, everyone has the chance to be successful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2007

Have 2 children at AHS. The senior is prepared to enter an ivy league level school. Has been challenged by the honors/AP coursework and has enjoyed the very dedicated teachers. Extra activities include drama and band,including experiences at the All-State level. Second child, a freshmen, is stepping-up to the college-prep coursework and is loving the sports activities. Can't say enough about positive impact on the students available because religious values are integrated into the daily classroom. AHS is becoming more available to all economic levels because of more scholarships and Embracing Your Future aid. Good things are happening at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

The education is expensive, but worth it. The students are challenged to aim high and given the tools to make their goals.The band and theatre programs are flourishing, while the vocal program needs some spark. This is a college prep program, exclusively. Being a small school, the greatest negative is class rank. The Iowa regent schools allow any student in the upper 50% of his class admittance, despite actual grade point or ACT score. At Assumption, a 3.3 - 3.5 grade point may not be in the top 50%. The attention to ethics, theology, and apologetics makes this high school a bargain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

...also in response to Feb 04 review.....it is evident that the reviewer does not have first hand knowledge. I have a child-at-risk at Assumption and receive weekly updates from ALL teachers and school counselor. 'Trashing' Catholic schools has always been a popular sport in Davenport, especially Assumption High School. And as far as academics, the students consistently rank among the best in the state. Get the facts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2005

In response to the feb. 4 review....learn how to spell, then make an educated review. Assumption is a great school. Over 95% of the graduates go on to a higher education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 6, 2004

Assumption is a great school. The safety and discipline great. I strongly agree with the uniform policy and having religion in school. I truly wish our public schools would adopt some of these policies. We need to get back to the basics of family and God being #1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Parents should know that overall curriculum for this school is extremely week. During the 2003/2004 School year, 36 seniors were denied admission to the University of Iowa due to the curriculum. Examples of classes include 'Crossword Puzzels and Word Games' and 'Black jack'!!! No Special Ed or assistance to students at risk exist. Primary emphasis is on sports. The Music program is suffering. Enrolment has dropped way below 500.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 86%
Hispanic 6% 7%
Asian 3% 1%
Black 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Davenport
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1020 W Central Park Ave
Davenport, IA 52804
Phone: (563) 326-5313

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Kimberly Center East
Davenport, IA


Central High School
Davenport, IA


North High School
Davenport, IA


West High School
Davenport, IA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT