Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Assumption High School 5

Posted May 23, 2013
- a student
You could not pick a better school to send your child to. AHS has diverse and challenging class as well as a fair number of co-credit classes. The class as a whole is small (graduating seniors had 94 total) but creates a great community environment. Transferring was the best decision I've made.

Assumption High School 1

Posted October 24, 2012
- a community member
Anyone wishing to teach, stay away from Assumption. The building itself is not up to code (asbestos, pest problems, etc.), the staff who do teach there mostly leave after one year (or less!) and except for a handful of students who are gifted, there are many, many students who are very rude and arrogant. I used to teach there...and I wouldn't go back there even if I was offered a million dollars.
1 person found this helpful


Assumption High School 5

Posted October 12, 2009
- a community member
a great school. great academics, and extra-curricular activities. the staff are caring and good. my children got a wonderful education in a good christian school. the studnets pray daily, before class, and can go to Mass weekly - as a class, or as a team, or on their own. i recommend to everyone, including students of all faiths

Assumption High School 5

Posted December 17, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Assumption High School 5

Posted March 21, 2007
- a student
Assumption is a great school to send your kids too. I have 2 kids there right now and they could not love it anymore. They are extremely involved with the school. I have a junior and about half of the junior class is involved in National Honor Society. The classes are challenging but with such a low student to teacher ratio the kids can ask for help anytime they need it and still get the personal one-on-one attention as if they were with a tutor. Assumption is a very family-oriented school, everyone has the chance to be successful.


Assumption High School 5

Posted February 02, 2007
- a parent
Have 2 children at AHS. The senior is prepared to enter an ivy league level school. Has been challenged by the honors/AP coursework and has enjoyed the very dedicated teachers. Extra activities include drama and band,including experiences at the All-State level. Second child, a freshmen, is stepping-up to the college-prep coursework and is loving the sports activities. Can't say enough about positive impact on the students available because religious values are integrated into the daily classroom. AHS is becoming more available to all economic levels because of more scholarships and Embracing Your Future aid. Good things are happening at this school!

Assumption High School 4

Posted April 18, 2005
- a parent
The education is expensive, but worth it. The students are challenged to aim high and given the tools to make their goals.The band and theatre programs are flourishing, while the vocal program needs some spark. This is a college prep program, exclusively. Being a small school, the greatest negative is class rank. The Iowa regent schools allow any student in the upper 50% of his class admittance, despite actual grade point or ACT score. At Assumption, a 3.3 - 3.5 grade point may not be in the top 50%. The attention to ethics, theology, and apologetics makes this high school a bargain.

Assumption High School 5

Posted February 19, 2005
- a parent
...also in response to Feb 04 review.....it is evident that the reviewer does not have first hand knowledge. I have a child-at-risk at Assumption and receive weekly updates from ALL teachers and school counselor. 'Trashing' Catholic schools has always been a popular sport in Davenport, especially Assumption High School. And as far as academics, the students consistently rank among the best in the state. Get the facts.


Assumption High School 5

Posted January 14, 2005
- a former student
In response to the feb. 4 review....learn how to spell, then make an educated review. Assumption is a great school. Over 95% of the graduates go on to a higher education.

Assumption High School 4

Posted August 06, 2004
- a parent
Assumption is a great school. The safety and discipline great. I strongly agree with the uniform policy and having religion in school. I truly wish our public schools would adopt some of these policies. We need to get back to the basics of family and God being #1.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Assumption High School
1020 West Central Park Avenue, Davenport, IA  52804
(563) 326-5313
Last modified Assumption High School is a Private school that serves grades 8-12
Assumption High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top