Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Davenport, IA
Students enrolled: 1,931
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West High School 2

Posted April 30, 2015
- a community member
I graduated from West in 2008. I had SOME amazing teachers, others truly should not have been attempting to teach. College prep was a joke. There were so many fights, gang issues, and teen pregnancies it made it feel like an alternative school! West, and other davenport high schools are way behind. Many schools now offer programs were you can start working on your associates degree beginning your junior year. They're trying to be a good school, but there are some major environment issues that will forever hinder them, until they fix them. I would love to see West bloom into a wonderful state leading high school. A word to the school, speak with the community colleges, figure out courses that you already have, that with some tweaks and their approved testing will become (not AP classes) but still college courses!

West High School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a student
1st day West High School it was awesome showed us the building Hadist meet each other. made it feel welcome the school is clean has barely any fights and we are very smart individuals all the West I staff wants to help you and wait to see you succeed to yourdiplom


West High School 5

Posted May 28, 2013
- a community member
''It's Falcon awesome and great place to learn with a awesome staff and student. One of a kind.'' - Freddy Falcon

West High School 4

Posted February 20, 2013
- a student
Ive had a lot of fun here. I hated it at first but grew to love it. The teachers are great. The student just has to want to do well.

West High School 4

Posted November 14, 2012
- a student
I think every person will have their own opinion about their high school, but I thought it was an overall great school to attend. Every group of friends has their own "clique." I think it is important to become involved in school functions. Students will make more friends and won't have to worry about discrimination if they stay busy and contribute to the school system. I'm guessing that the students who hated this school weren't apart of anything the school had to offer. The teachers were great and very understanding. There is always that one teacher that people dread having (probably because they just want to retire) but they all offered to help outside of class if you needed it. Plus, the advanced classes really helped you prepare for college. Some students bring a negative attitude to school and expect people to treat them like royalty. Students need to work for the respect of their teachers and classmates. If you can't give it then you don't deserve it in return! Davenport isn't the nicest neighborhood, but it's still a great school to get a great education.


West High School 1

Posted January 20, 2012
- a community member
Omg i read some of these reviews for west and I can't believe the davenport schools system would let a high school get this bad. West high school needs a turn around and support. The athletic department would be much better if west did a 360 turn around and kids wouldn't transfer to other schools. I hope it changes on the near future!!!

West High School 1

Posted March 22, 2011
- a student
Having gone here for four years, I notice that West has the following major faults: lethargic students, unprofessional faculty, a filthy campus, and severe division. With students, many of them don't want to be there and feel locked up. This leads to disrespect, violence, and low test results (ACT Avr. = 20). This combination of lacking work ethic and desire to revolt makes the school prison-like, which is bad for those there to learn, like myself. For teachers, unless you get into an AP or upper-level course, you're typically faced with unprofessional, uninterested teachers who couldn't teach a dog to fetch. Also, the security guards at the school are racially biased and let the black kids, and the butt-kissers, get away with everything, which is a problem. The campus, put simply, reflects the school itself. Filthy, divided, and prison-like. It just isn't welcoming. Finally, the student body is divided into racial groups who don't typically get along for historical reasons (EX: blacks and whites). This, combined with violent tendencies, has led to several fights at West. Not good . These problems are inexcusable and put four stakes though West's heart, draining its potential.

West High School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
They are a great bunch of caring kids that like to help their fellow students and their community.


West High School 2

Posted January 19, 2009
- a student
I am currently attending West High School as a sophomore. In my honest opinion the only thing 'great' there is the lunch room. In the large lunch area there are multiple different things to choose from. From Mexican food to Pizza, there is a great selection. Other than that, West is a terrible High school. The amount of ignorance and violence within the school is ridiculous. Also, most teachers within the school are highly mediocre. Another thing that is a problem at West are the cliques. When I walk through the crowded halls it feels very divided. What bothers me the most though is how the Security faculty befriends some of the more 'Troublesome' students, and when those students get in trouble they get of without any consequences... There definitely needs to be an administration change, and some serious updates to rid of the

West High School 5

Posted April 27, 2007
- a student
west high is a excellent school and you would be just lucky to attend it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West High School
3505 West Locust, Davenport, IA  52804
(563) 386-5500
Last modified West High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top