Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North High School

Public | 9-12 | 986 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 12, 2014

You'll hear stories about how great Bettendorf and Pleasant Valley are, but truth be told, I lived in those school districts and the kids are very spoiled and ungrateful. Davenport North is more down-to-earth, has great teachers, great community, and is safe. There is a lot of diversity in this district and that's a positive in my book.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

Don't listen to the wise of North High School I'm a West but I'm here to tell u what the SoCo good students did it they tagged West High School in there going to pay for it now that proves that all these guys on is of misfits ragtag misfits when West High is all nice and all that we are good people.


Posted March 18, 2009

North High School is truly the best school in Davenport. Their sports and academics excel to the highest point. The bulk of the students are very civilized and come from good families so there really isn't much violence if any. So far nothing has happened involving fights. My brothers went here and North prepared them for college very well. The principal is very nice and she makes sure that any of your problems are solved. The counslers are a big help as well. There are bad students but they normally just slack off and they don't bother students that excel. The choir program is really good. The choral directors help each of the singers get better. The band program is good as well. I think that North prepares you for college better than Central and West. North has a great MCJROTC. Overall, North High is the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2009

I graduated from North High in 2004, and I am aware that a lot of things can change in a few years, but most of the negativity towards this school was around even when I went their. This school offers a great educational experience and yes if you are hoping to get a scholarship for athletics it might not be the best choice for you , but if you are looking for a small caring environment then North can be a great option. I have always heard negativity directed at the academics, but I am living proof like all things in life it's what you make of it. I graduated with a 3.8 and was president of two clubs and active on multiple sports teams. I had no issues getting into every school I applied for and excelling once I was their. There are options for those who wish to succeed
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2009

Ive graduated from North, If your not street smart don't go there because you will get made fun of. Their are some excellent teachers who really do care about the students but some (like the principal) only come out of there offices once a year to look for their shadows. Its not the worst school but its no where near the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 22, 2008

I am a former student from North. North is a terrible school. It poorly prepare students for College. There was a lot of violence, the hall's were literally policed like a prison, and student attitude and respect towards staff was deplorable. I would ask my parents to go to a different school every year, trying to tell them how bad a school it was, but they didn't believe me... That is until my little sister went here and also begged to leave. And good for her they listened, took her out, and sent her to a better school. Where she later graduated with a 3.8. Please if you send your child here, and they complain and want to go to a different school, listen. With that said, there are some good teachers and students. I cant bulk everyone together. North does have a nice choir program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2007

My third child is currently attending North. It is a great school. We have been very happy with academics and school activities that are provided. Wonderful enviroment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

its hared to tell just yet.at least till report cards come home. so far the block schedual has been awesom....so far we have 3 a/s and 1 b..and that includes algebra. which last year was a D subject. this seems to keep a focus where the 7 subject day seems overwelming. as long as this keeps up. the horizon is certainly in sight
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

I had four students attend North High. It has a great band program and facilities in general. All four of my kids went on to receive college degrees. Some believe another school in Davenport is better, that is not true. They need to discover instead of perceive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2005

'I attended North for my first two years and I now attend North Scott Highschool. Why? because the students back you up about 1% of the way, the sports are a joke, very few athletes actually try and give it there all to win. It simply isnt a good school if your going for a sport, and the staff isn't as trustworthy as most other schools. I am very happy with NorthScott, it has been a 180 degree turn for me and im now going in the right direction and already getting many colleges from all over to talk to me.'
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2005

So far I'm happy with North. Much smaller than the other 2 Davenport Schools and much less snobby than the Bettendorf schools. Is it perfect? No but I don't think you will find one that is. School very good if your child is in vocal music or instrumental.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

This school would not be my number one choice for a new student to enter. Sure the new cafeteria is great but that is about it. Teaching wise--I could do myself. Not happy with the staff at all. Not very professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracial67%
White76%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities45%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students77%
African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracial67%
White83%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 81%
Black 27% 5%
Hispanic 9% 9%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A39%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

626 West 53rd St
Davenport, IA 52806
Phone: (563) 388-9880

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Kimberly Center East
Davenport, IA





Central High School
Davenport, IA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT