Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Delaware Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 557 students

We are best known for focus on teaching and learning.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

I have just read the post made in May 3, 2012. It truly sickened me that someone could make such a statement about ALL 5th grade teachers at Delaware Elementary. The 5th grade teachers are quite likeable, but do not hold the kids as responsible (my 5th grade students are required to study for test). If a project is turned in haphazard or looks sloppy, an A or A+ is still easily obtained (absolutely not true in my classroom). Students who naturally excel, still excel (I constantly challenge students needing a challenge). The kids who need to be held to expectations. just slide by and it shows in their grades & state/national tests scores (ANOTHER FALSE STATEMENT). Quite sad. I emailed & visited 5th grade teachers many times only to be told, they are doing well, not to worry (I NEVER DO THIS.....I always contact parents when concerns are present....we work together to rectify the issue). I believe the drop in test scores from 4th to 5th grade make sense. It's sad, but makes sense. (I am very curious as to where this person acquired their data...again...untrue). If a parent has an issue with a 5th grade teacher....ALL 5th grade teachers should not be group together.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 5, 2014

This school has a outstanding / caring staff and one Wonderful Principal that takes the time to know each and every child as a individual. The challenge in which the school has is the increase of Anawim housing in the area, but I look at positive as my child we see allot of diversity within the children and be able to expand their self's to be a better person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

We are known for our amazing students, families and teachers. The PTO does a lot for our families and staff. It's an incredible environment for students to learn in.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 3, 2012

As a parent I enjoyed watching the kids grow & learn until 5th grade. Each year the teachers challenged the students to do more & held them accountable for better work results. At least 1 of the 4th grade teachers visits the child's home prior to school starting in the fall. Homework - even if it was 15 minutes - was assigned probably 4 days a week. They were required to study for tests and to do their best on projects. The 5th grade teachers are quite likeable, but do not hold the kids as responsible. If a project is turned in haphazard or looks sloppy, an A or A+ is still easily obtained. If an assignment is not completed, they are sometimes still given up to a week (or more) to do it and still get an A or A+. Then comes the C or D on the test. Responsibility is shot. Students who naturally excel, still excel. The kids who need to be held to expectations. just slide by and it shows in their grades & state/national tests scores. Quite sad. I emailed & visited 5th grade teachers many times only to be told, they are doing well, not to worry. I believe the drop in test scores from 4th to 5th grade make sense. It's sad, but makes sense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2011

As a teacher at Delaware, I have seen it become better and better each year. Parent involvement is at an all time high, and there is more and more of a "team effort" between teacher/parent in their child's education, which is the way it NEEDS to be! I am so thankful to work with wonderful teachers and people. Teacher's have never felt more supported by our PTO, and we are so grateful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 16, 2011

I am a parent of two children who attend Delaware Elementary. We have been completely satisfied with the teachers, the leadership of the administration, and the strong PTO board and volunteers. My children have had a wonderful experience both academically and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

Delaware is one of the largest Elementary schools in this large district, but it continues to impress me with it's small school feel. They do a good job communicating to parents and keeping them involved. Our family appreciates all the PTO sponsored activities and have had all good experiences with this school and faculty. Budget cuts have been hard for this school, but we are looking forward to the continued growth and prosper we have seen over the last 6 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

As the mom of a kindergartener, I couldn't be more pleased with Delaware. Communication from the school and district is consistent and so helpful. The teachers and PTO go out of their way to help students (and parents) feel informed and welcome. My sons loves his teacher, and I'm finding the Delaware community to be a wonderful start to my son's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

Great, involved teachers, lots of parent opportunities to be involved with their kids at school (especially kindergarten) and a WONDERFUL principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2008

I feel Delaware Elementary continues to improve every year. Out of the 6 years we have been involved with this school we have enjoyed all but one teacher. They have many new teachers here and I feel they bring new ideas to my childs education. My kids feel safe and secure here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2008

i have 4 children ages 2 through 18. 3 of them have attended delaware and the youngest will in 3 years. i also attended delaware 30 years ago. while i have seen many changes at this school it has remained wonderful and my children enjoy going to this school. i do agree though that as far as handicapped children go you definately have to be a parent advocate for your child at this school but they are getting better and adding more for the handicapped all the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

Our children attended Delaware Elementary for 7 years. We were pleased with a few of the teachers. Communication and cooperation with parents are less than desirable. If you have a child of special needs, we highly discourage placement at this school. You will be very dissatisfied!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2005

We have been less than pleased with the level of parent involvement of this school. I view this as a problem equally distributed between the school and the parents. The school doesn't encourage parental involvement very much, and the parents don't really volunteer much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2004

Delware Elementary is an excellent school. You just couldn't ask for a better school for your children to attend!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 81%
Hispanic 6% 9%
Asian 5% 2%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A39%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Kevin Walker
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (515) 264-8239

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • The Altoona Campus offers many different sports activities for students in the Southeast Polk Schools.
Girls sports
  • The Altoona Campus offers many different sports activities for students in the Southeast Polk Schools.

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

More from this school
  • Delaware Elementary is a school that is committed to providing students a quality education. The staff is very caring, and work to make a safe environment for students to excel in their learning. We are a PBIS school and students know our RAMS Way (Respect, Always Responsible, Manners, and Self Control/Safety) expectations and work to meet those expectations. We also have a very committed PTO that provides many family and student centered activities with the highlight of the year being our PTO Carnival in the spring of the year.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4401 East 46th St
Des Moines, IA 50317
Website: Click here
Phone: (515) 262-3197

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Fairmount Education
Des Moines, IA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT