Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Des Moines, IA
Students enrolled: 305
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Theresa School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
Small class size allows for individual attention on students. Teachers are engaged, excited, and truly care about each student.

St Theresa School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
The school uses STEM programming with every student in every grade. STEM teaches many life skills through its hands on, try, and re-try approach. Students build determination and confidence through the try it, make changes, and try again format of STEM.


St Theresa School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
Brand new to the school and I was impressed how my child was shown respect from the staff and kids from the very first visit day. My child had never been shown that much respect before.

St Theresa School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
The school community is very supportive to families and demonstrates to students compassion, care, and empathy. I received much help during a difficult time; people went out of their way to show empathy. My kids reach out to others and ask me how we can help.

St Theresa School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
Honesty, integrity, and fairness are expected in the students. The staff model Christian values and students are held accountable for their actions.


St Theresa School 1

Posted July 10, 2015
- a parent
The principal is clueless as to what goes on in this school. She avoids conflict by not being present in classrooms, halls, and the playground, not returning e-mails and calls, and protecting employees from inappropriate and unprofessional behaviors. Who does she answer to? She's gotten away with this for long enough! It's time for some healthy leadership to save this school from its demise. Well over a dozen kids have left during the past school year. Sounds like someone finally needs to intervene and find out what really goes on there. Signed, Fed Up and Appalled in the DM Catholic Diocese.

St Theresa School 1

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
When it came to child development and child psychology classes the principle and the middle/junior high teaching staff must have been sleeping. This school harms children’s integrity and causes great stress and anxiety. Be careful if you are looking at this school. Visit more than once and I assure you that you will hear teachers in the upper grades yelling at students. I figured that the children must have deserved it until it started happening to mine. Humiliation is not a good discipline tactic, however it is used daily on normally acting children. I would only recommend this school to people who have children that don’t make mistakes, only for children who can always sit still, and never step out of the line that is desired. To top it off, if you run into conflict, you will not get a response from the principle. Mrs. Stemler is unable to handle conflict and will not return calls or emails if the topic makes her uncomfortable.

St Theresa School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
This answer to this question is it depends. It depends on if you are talking about education or life lessons. They teach book material just fine, they are terrible about teaching children coping still for life.


St Theresa School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
All Catholic school have a higher volume of homework and this school is no different. This is one area that I feel this school has right. Academically they teach the children and encourage them to take their study habits home. From time to time there was homework sent home that was hard for an adult to do, but I wouldn’t say that this was a bad lesson for the kids.

St Theresa School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
This school has a good academic program and if you child never speaks out of turn, steps out of line, or makes a mistake then they will do well. It is those children who have energy, excitement for life, and a creative disposition that will be beaten down by the principal and the middle and junior high teachers. So maybe they do teach determination to the student who refuse to be beaten down by them.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Theresa School
5810 Carpenter Avenue, Des Moines, IA  50311
(515) 277-0178
Last modified St Theresa School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Theresa School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top