Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
305 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Theresa School 5

Posted February 19, 2016
- a parent
Social Justice Week, STEM with all students, Robotics, HyperStream, First Lego League, Engineering is Elementary, A world in Motion, Project Lead the Way, STEM Camps, hands on learning everyday with every student! I love it all! My kids really excelled at STCS! It is truly a GREAT SCHOOL! The teachers really care about you and your student, it is a real community! I would highly recommend this school!

St Theresa School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
St theresa is a pbis and strives to live these values in everything they do. No person or place is perfect and this is a wonderful place to grow together.


St Theresa School 5

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
Social-emotional, physical, academic, and spiritual well-being are all positively supported and achieved. Very welcoming environment and inclusive in all school activities and community life.

St Theresa School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
I want to thank Mrs. Mohrfeld, Ms. Lyddon, and Miss Tabitha, Miss Bridget all the preK & daycare staff for helping my son transition to St. Theresa 4 year old preK and daycare. it hasn't been easy and I'm so thankful to have partners in helping to raise my son. the student volunteers provide an amazing experience for my son to play and socialize. Being new to the school this year, everyone has provided an exceptional experience and positive support. Thank you!

St Theresa School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
I had to choose one so I picked school leader. Mrs. Stemler is a great example of how we should be, it shows in her school. What an incredible group of people! All of them, the school leaders, teachers, staff, parents/families and students. They have all been there for our family and continue to be. Last New Year's Eve I received a phone call from my 3 yr old's Doctor. We had taken him in the day before due to an ankle he kept hurting. They didn't see anything in the X-rays but he could not walk. Labs were drawn. The doctor was calling to let me know there was something terribly wrong with Koby's blood work. We needed to go to Blank Children's Hospital for further testing. He was diagnosed with Leukemia 1-12-15. With STCS' help what seemed to be the end of our world is now manageable and our normal. From rides to meals to gifts, support both emotional and financial to endless prayers. They were there, 100%!! Keep in mind Koby was not attending this school. His sister, Kaya was in kindergarten though. I am pleased to report Koby's doctors are thrilled with how he is responding to treatment. He is a cancer fighting machine! He is now attending Pre-K at STCS and doing awesome. Kaya is loving and learning so much in 1st grade. Words can not express the thankfulness I feel, only tears as I type. We are truly blessed to be part of this amazing school!


St Theresa School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
There is a saying among the teachers that i have heard from many of them "whatever it takes". I asked once what they meant by that and they said that it means that they would do whatever they could to help students succeed. I have a son that struggled in reading in 1st grade and his teacher offered to stay after school several nights a week to help him. She did and now in 4th grade, he is one of the best readers in his class.

St Theresa School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
My 4th grader has a little bit of homework each night. It is usually spelling, a little math, and then maybe a social studies , writing or science project. It keeps them challenged without overloading them. I am glad to see them working at home but still have time to go outside and be a kid.

St Theresa School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
I see this mostly in their STEM program. My kids are taught to never give up on a problem. They are able to try a solution and if that does not work they are encouraged to redesign and try again. This has had an affect on how they approach their homework as well. They want to finish it and not give up, even when they find it difficult.


St Theresa School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
This school has taught my kids how to be kind to others and welcome everyone into their hearts. They often come home talking about how they feel respected by the teachers and I think this serves as a good role model for my kids. This is an area that St. Theresa excels.

St Theresa School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
This school goes out of their way to be sure that every student is respected and valued. I love to go to the weekly school masses and see the students so actively engaged in the mass. My kids have grown in their faith and treat others with the up most kindness.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Theresa School
5810 Carpenter Avenue, Des Moines, IA  50311
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (515) 277-0178
Last modified St Theresa School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top