Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Downtown School

Public | K-6 | 278 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2013

I've been happy with the school so far. My son is a kindergartener. I'm continually impressed by how much the families who have been there love it. We haven't totally "bought in" yet, but I can see the potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2011

My daughter was in this school for 6 years, kindergarten through fifth grade. As she grew older, I was increasingly uncomfortable with the fact that I did not know how she was doing considering they do not give grades and do not assign any homework. Only now do I realize the unique means of learning (no textbooks, project based learning) did not work for my child. She is far behind other kids in her middle school, especially in math and science. What a mistake. Now, she has homework and I can interact with her, see if she understands. There was no way to do that before. I know I'm in the minotiry in my opinion, which is why I did not trust my instinct and left my daughter in the school too long.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

Wonderful teacher/parent relationship at this school. The teachers are awesome and so dedicated to creating an inspiring, enriching educational atmosphere for the students. The classrooms and structure are very interesting -- classrooms are mixed, with younger and older students learning together. There are no rows of desks. Students sit together in pairs or threesomes at learning tables where they can work independently or collaboratively. Every six to eight weeks, the classes have "culminating events" where parents, grandparents and other family are invited to attend a classroom presentation. Each child gives a short presentation to the group and presents their corresponding artwork. It's a wonderful way for families to participate and see first-hand what their children have learned and created. It's just a wonderful learning environment! We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

I have three children in the school and I do believe there is no other school out there as dedicated to the students as Downtown School is. My children enjoy going there and parents are welcomed to walk in at anytime to visit the school. No appointment needed. The teachers are wonderful and caring. They have more time to work with the students because the class ratio. And the unit studies are a great way for the children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2008

I followed this school closely prior to having children. The multi-age classrooms, the focus on active learning versus standardized test performance, and the location was very exciting. When our son was in preschool, I considered our neighborhood school and the Downtown School. When our neighborhood school told me they tried not to have more than 25 children per class, I knew that the Downtown School was for us. Our son has really benefited from the small class size (16 students), the extended school year (only 6 weeks off in the summer), and the ability to explore his passions. Volunteer opportunities are readily available and parents are always welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

Excellent school! Low student:teacher ratio, solid programs and spectacular teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2007

The Downtown School is the premier educational model of the Des Moines School Systems. It does not teach to the test. It teaches children how to learn. The children at the DTS are blessed with small classrooms and hands on learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2004

I have a third grade son and now a kindergartener in this school and I have been very pleased with the teacher-student ratio, multi-aged classroom and the hands-on learning approach used. The goal to encourage mentoring among the students in each class and the leadership skills learned has been invaluable. Project based learning has really instilled a love for learning and presenting information has fostered a love for public speaking in a child I would have considered painfully shy when he entered the school as a five year old. I have thoroughly enjoyed the years we have been a part of the Downtown School family.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 81%
Hispanic 9% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Black 5% 5%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A39%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1800 Grand Ave
Des Moines, IA 50309
Phone: (515) 284-5848

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Walnut Street School
Des Moines, IA




King Elementary School
Des Moines, IA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT