Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Downtown School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Thank you Mr Kerns for being Asher's teacher. In the short time Asher has been in your class, he has such an eagerness to learn as much as he can. I love that he gets individual attention from you when needed. He loves going to school and that's a direct correlation to you and all the great teachers! Thank you!

Downtown School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
On January 7 I feel and broke my leg very badly. I live across the street from the Downtown School. I was bed ridden for 6 weeks and I would have to go up and down four flights of stairs to take my son to school. I had no one to take him to school. I called his teacher, Mr. Kerns, and I thought I was going to have to take Asher out of school because I had no way to take him to school. Mr. Kerns offered to walk over and get Asher in the morning and after school! It makes me tear up as I write this. It was so overwhelming that he cared about my son so much. The other 5/6 teachers helped, as well as Mrs. Flickenger! I know that no other elementary school would have done this for us. I am truly grateful for Asher to go to such a wonderful school. I can't say thank you enough to everyone who helped us. I couldn't have picked a better teacher for Asher than Mr. Kerns! He is such an kind teacher who obviously cares so much about his students. Sheryl Hutto


Downtown School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
I have to say read my first post because it explains this. What other school would take their time to get a student who had no way of getting to school because of a parent's injury!

Downtown School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
My son is a first year and I don't think at his age he should have homework.

Downtown School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
The children follow the example the teachers. Every teacher I've met has been so nice and supportive of my injury. Asher was having a hard time going to school after my accident. Mrs. Flickenger told Asher he could come see her every morning if he needed to talk. It really helped him. Sheryl Hutto


Downtown School 2

Posted February 12, 2015
- a parent
Both my kids went to the DTS, they have some very good teachers there, and yes class sizes are smaller, however, I learned at my youngest first conference in middle school this year that she did not know basic math. How did that happen? Both of my kids struggle with math, and it doesn't help when each school seems to have there own "inovative" way of teaching it. Apparently the DTS didn't teach my daughter the basics and went right into algebra. Her middle school teacher had a plan at least to help her, so she basically has had to relearn math from the beginning so she could understand the basic's they are teaching in her school right now. I was actually shocked and rather disappointed to hear this at her first conferences, especially when her DTS teachers said she was ready for middle school and she'll do fine. Not sure how this school manages to maintain one of the best ratings for a school in DMPS, (most DMPS schools rate VERY poorly), when my daughter didn't know basic math skills going into middle school. I will say they have excellent teachers there (most), however, I have no idea what it is they're teaching. Very concerned about all DMPS school curriculums at this point.

Downtown School 4

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
I've been happy with the school so far. My son is a kindergartener. I'm continually impressed by how much the families who have been there love it. We haven't totally "bought in" yet, but I can see the potential.

Downtown School 1

Posted September 19, 2011
- a parent
My daughter was in this school for 6 years, kindergarten through fifth grade. As she grew older, I was increasingly uncomfortable with the fact that I did not know how she was doing considering they do not give grades and do not assign any homework. Only now do I realize the unique means of learning (no textbooks, project based learning) did not work for my child. She is far behind other kids in her middle school, especially in math and science. What a mistake. Now, she has homework and I can interact with her, see if she understands. There was no way to do that before. I know I'm in the minotiry in my opinion, which is why I did not trust my instinct and left my daughter in the school too long.


Downtown School 4

Posted October 25, 2010
- a parent
Wonderful teacher/parent relationship at this school. The teachers are awesome and so dedicated to creating an inspiring, enriching educational atmosphere for the students. The classrooms and structure are very interesting -- classrooms are mixed, with younger and older students learning together. There are no rows of desks. Students sit together in pairs or threesomes at learning tables where they can work independently or collaboratively. Every six to eight weeks, the classes have "culminating events" where parents, grandparents and other family are invited to attend a classroom presentation. Each child gives a short presentation to the group and presents their corresponding artwork. It's a wonderful way for families to participate and see first-hand what their children have learned and created. It's just a wonderful learning environment! We love this school!

Downtown School 5

Posted April 21, 2009
- a parent
I have three children in the school and I do believe there is no other school out there as dedicated to the students as Downtown School is. My children enjoy going there and parents are welcomed to walk in at anytime to visit the school. No appointment needed. The teachers are wonderful and caring. They have more time to work with the students because the class ratio. And the unit studies are a great way for the children to learn.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Downtown School
1800 Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA  50309
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (515) 284-5848
Last modified Downtown School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top