Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cattell Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
My daughter switched to Cattell 2yrs ago from Willard and I couldn't be happier.. The teachers and administration at this school are amazing and do everything in their power to help their kids succeed!

Cattell Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2014
- a community member
Cattell is a great school with really caring teachers.. wonderful experience for my grandson THANKS


Cattell Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
There teachers and are very friendly and helpful to my daughter who goes there.They help me by letting me know how she is doing and what she needs to work on.

Cattell Elementary School 3

Posted September 30, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Cattell Elementary School 2

Posted June 02, 2007
- a parent
Cattell does not have programs in place to help their gifted students. When I pushed the topic, I was told that there wasn't enough funding or staff for the gifted students. No Child Left Behind has hurt this school. Teachers at Cattell push for uniformity. There are no extracurricular activities. Parent involvement is weak, at best. I won't take my children back to Cattell. Mr. Shott is no longer there. No parking available. My kids and I didn't care for the school's Tools for Success program.


Cattell Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cattell Elementary School 4

Posted June 21, 2004
- a parent
My wife went there. Currently my sons will be beginning Kindergarten and 2nd grade. Quality of education is excellent. My oldest in 1st grade at the time was doing 2nd grade Math/Reading. We talked of options to put him in with 3rd graders for those areas he excelled at, then to return with his classmates for the remaining classes. Nice facility with exception of accessability and parking avaliblity. I Was bothered once when my kindergartner was outside alone awaiting my arrival and crying. If they cared as much about there well being as much as their education it would be a 5 star school. They do incourage good conduct skills in school that is a plus. Considering the crunch the state has put on our schools Cattell is a school perfect for any child. There is racial diversity here and all income brackets. Seems kids get along well and are happy.

Cattell Elementary School 5

Posted October 06, 2003
- a parent
My daughter is a first grader at Cattell. I have had nothing but good experiences with her teachers. Mr. B was her kindergarten teacher and Mrs. Weaver is her 1st grade teacher and they genuinely care and take time to work with me to help my child do better in school. Mr. Schott really cares about the well being of the kids. I would highly recommend this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cattell Elementary School
3101 East 12th St, Des Moines, IA  50316
(515) 242-8403
Last modified Cattell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cattell Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top