Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East High School

Public | 9-12 | 2230 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2013

East High is the best school here in Iowa. Well to me of course. I am not in any extra curricular activities but they do have a lot. The school spirit is amazing and you could feel how proud we are to be a Scarlet! We are actually the biggest 9-12 school here in Iowa. I transferred to East as a Sophomore and I was a little scared because I heard so much bad things about East but it turned out to be big rumors! Every school has rumors and its just the stereotypes that scare people away. The faculty is very friendly and I have never had any problems with any teacher. I am very proud to be a Scarlet!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2012

Personally I do not like East much however compared to Central I find my East peers to be more relatable, sort of. Anyways other than a few good teachers I find the school to be a downer. At East they mostly care for athletics while other after school activities (besides debate) are rarely announced on the intercom. The school isn't bad but it isn't exactly the place where you want to send your children, as for education it's not that great but not horrid either. Faculty however, I feel like half of them are doing an extremely awful job and are unnecessarily rude just because they've authority over the students. Overall I rate this school as 2/5. Maybe it's just the fact I'm a cynical introvert who couldn't care for the next football game or befriend the average East student who overuses the word swag and old internet memes from five years ago. Though this review makes me sound like an arrogant pseudo intellectual who you may dislike, this is how I truly feel about the school after spending 3 years here. I'm not that impressed with the school when it comes to teachers, education, and students however it isn't the worst place. It's just not a place that I want to go back to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2011

East is a great school for any high schooler. They have tons of extra curricular classes and all the basics too. I love most of my teachers and I usually have a great day. Another plus, is the school spirit. If everyone in that school filled up the main gym and yelled at the top of their lungs, no other gymnasium in Iowa could come close. The building is very big, but organized. Four floors of clasrooms and the west wing is the activity wing. It has 2 gyms, a weightlifting room, and a pool room. The cafeteria is large and spacey. Overall this is one of the best schools (I would say) in Iowa.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2010

Great school great tradition. Mixed culture and many teachers who care. Also great sports programs. I'm proud to have been scarlet! #21!


Posted March 7, 2010

I am a parent of 2 high school students of East High. Upon moving to Des Moines I was encouraged to not allow my children to attend this High School. Upon walking into the school, I was impressed. I expected graffiti, gangs, unruley kids, etc. Unfortunately, I expected the worst. No only did my 'old' community warn me, but also the Des Moines community talked horrible of this school. East is an awesome school. I am thankful that my children had the opportunity to attend. The teachers are available, their performance is above average, and they have the students best interest in their teaching. They care! On the negative, the counselors seem to have their own agenda in mind ...but with stern persuasion, they can come around. I would recommend East to anyone who cares about their child's education! It is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2007

I think East should have more security guards to patrol the school. The population is one of the highest in the city and there are not enough guards to ensure students are safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2007

GO EAST!!!!! I am currently a Junior and I think that East is a great school. There could be more involvement/interest in the music department though. I am a member of all band things offered, and it seems that many students don't care to watch our performances as much as the sports. It is still a great school and deserves a much better reputation than people have associated with it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2006

I am currently a junior at East, and I love this school! It's sad how so many people from other schools look down on us 'eastsiders.' I've recieved questions from people at other schools asking ridiculous questions like, 'Has anyone every been shot or stabbed?' Come on people, grow up! Actually, I bet our school has less violence than most others...well, from a student stand-point there's not much vioence at all, and the teachers seem to regulate it quite well. I do think some teachers are very-centered around sports, and yes...they do need to focus some more attention on the music/art dept...and this is coming from a basketball player. All in all, I absolutely LOVE East high, and these pathetic accusations of us being such a horrible school need to be shhh'd... Go East!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2005

I am a former student of East High School. Even though I did not finish there due to personal stuff I loved the school just the same. I have many memories and had great teachers. I was in band, chours, color guard,and swimteam. That and a teachers aid when ever I could be. East may have its problems but you will never find anything like it. Us Eastsiders are proud and we care about each other. You will always find an eastsider willing to stop and lend a hand. And hey no matter what other people think. I had to learn something because now I am in college with a 4.0 gpa. So hey they had to do something right!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 8, 2004

I love this school regardless on what other people think. We have great teachers, great students, and overall great pride. Nobody is ever embarrassed to represent the eastside and i'm also proud of it. Our sports is now getting to be one of the most dominating schools with athletics (thanks to our track team and football squad). Just wait until 4 years from now, we will win some type of state championship hands down.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2004

This school is a great school to send your children. It is a diverse school with many people. The construction right now may throw people off, but it is and always will be the best. The east side has a lot of pride and it really shows at the school. East itself may not be centered around sports but a lot of the faculty is. Sports has the largest budget that hardly ever gets cut. The arts deparments have very talented people involved. Although most people do not know about these activities those who do are generally floored by the talent shown.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2004

This is an excellent school with the largest alumni in the world. And it is not centered around just sports, it has an excellent band, marching band, and orchestra. And the jazz band is better than any jazz band in central iowa. The reason no one hears about these aspects of the school is because society is centered around sports. So of course sports are going to get more attention. Academics are very important at East also. The academic decatholon team does very well every year. And the parents are very involved with the school, but not as capable budget wise as other schools may be. But they are there with the teachers encouraging and enticing every student to do well, have fun, and above all to succeed and not just at school but in every aspect of life.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2003

This school centers itself around the main sports(football,basketball,etc.). If the students are in the arts departments(orchestra,band,choir,drama,etc)you will not find the support that the others would get. There are a lot of talented kids in this school and this includes sports and the fine arts that the parents need to express this with the principal, but parent involvement is also very low.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
African American41%
Asian71%
Hispanic51%
Multiracial48%
White68%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learners23%

Reading

All Students72%
African American59%
Asian76%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial72%
White81%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learners29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 81%
Hispanic 28% 9%
Black 14% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 2%
Two or more races 7% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A39%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Diving
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Diving
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

815 East 13th St
Des Moines, IA 50316
Phone: (515) 242-7788

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Keystone School
Des Moines, IA




North High School
Des Moines, IA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT