Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted April 12, 2014
- a parent
This is the BEST school in Des Moines, hand down! I put my middle child's name on the list before she was born. It took 1 week before kindergarten started for her before she got in. They say the Pledge of Allegiance everyday and most importantly they teach the students to be respectful of ALL others. And these children live by this rule. My first born was enrolled in the Des Moines Public School District and I believe that had she and all her peers had this instilled into their minds like these children do, that maybe the "No Bullying" rule wouldn't be as much if an issue as it is. I do really wish that they (Jefferson) had middle school and high school that my kids could just continue on into.!!

Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is in Kindergarten this year and loves her school! I do mini quizzes at home to see if she is learning what she should be at school and she is doing better than I expected. I love it that the school staffs are SUPER friendly, flexible, encouraging, and believe in the quality of education for their students. It is a plus that I can bring my behave 3 yrs old with me when I volunteer in the classroom!


Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
The best school on the southside!! Great teachers that want to help the children be better at every thing they do.

Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Jefferson Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 12, 2008
- a parent
I tell all my friends this is like getting private school education for public school prices. My children love the school and so do I.


Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2008
- a parent
Superior education with small classes and lots of 1 on 1 time with teachers. You would think this was a private school! If you want your child to attend Jefferson, be sure to enroll before the child is 1 if you want to get in.

Jefferson Elementary School 4

Posted June 24, 2007
- a parent
Variety of extracurricular programs, but could change since PTA run. High parent involvement. Large class sizes.

Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2004
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jefferson Elementary School
2425 Watrous Ave, Des Moines, IA  50321
(515) 242-8416
Last modified Jefferson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jefferson Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top