Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lincoln High School

Public | 9-12 | 2170 students

We are best known for academy approach to learning.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2014

Children can easily not go to school and jip classes and there will be no call to parents. Students are allowed to graduate with all F's. My sister graduated in 2010 with all F's. She never went to gym class and skipped school all the time and her mother never knew as there were no calls from the administration. She can read and write but only at a 7th grade level. Her brother, who can only read at a 5th grade level was pulled out and put into SEP so he could get the help he needs. My step-sister is about to graduate with F's as she is more worried about utilizing Lincoln's daycare (which only serves to encourage teens to get pregnant young.) There are lots of fights at this school and the school police are called constantly.


Posted May 6, 2013

All six of my children went to school there. Three daughters went on to higher education and graduating from UNI, Iowa and Drake. My son who will graduated this year will go on to Drake. The education and staff at Lincoln are excellent. When I read the reviews about kids not being able to read or graduate; uh maybe it's the parenting!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

This is one of the best high schools in Des Moines. But I am concerned about the lack of diversity there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

This school is wonderful. I used to live on the East Side but because I wanted my child to have a good education we moved to the South Side. Lincoln high school has some of the best staff out there. I would not want my child to go any where else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

this school is wonderful but due to all of the construction its hectic. The biggest concern I have is the doors the only doors accessible by students is the front entrance and the back parking lot door, the rest of the doors have been replaced and have no door handles. Yet the staff has keys to open all the doors. The noise is so annoying it interrupts our learning and some times you cant even hear the teachers talk.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2005

The quality of education at Lincoln is painfully obvious upon reading Liz's review. I graduated in 2003 and would estimate that at least 75% of the graduating class could barely read.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 11, 2005

LHS sure has had it's share of mishaps and misfortunes in recent years. I feel the staff and the adminstrators have done a fine job in keeping the students first and foremost. Understanding that these young adults are facing so much so early. LHS staff and Mr. Graziano need to be commended for their strong efforts, in moving forward with keeping the students their number one priority. Well wishes to a large, but caring school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2004

I graduated from Lincoln in May 2004, and I have to say that I couldn't be more satisfied with my high school education. The teachers were always willing to make our success the top priority. Who cares if there is no air-conditioning? Air-conditioning doesn't make a school great. It's the opportunities to succeed (which, I will admit, most students don't take advantage of) that make it great. When I arrived here at college, I felt very well-prepared, and I owe it to Lincoln High School.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 12, 2004

Lincoln his to crowded for its size of the building. there is no a/c. I hate going to school there b/c its to crowded. We have to work out of old books. We hardly every get homework b/c the school cant afford enought books for everybody.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
African American42%
Asian69%
Hispanic55%
Multiracial57%
White65%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners12%

Reading

All Students70%
African American55%
Asian63%
Hispanic58%
Multiracial61%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learners24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 81%
Hispanic 18% 9%
Black 11% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A39%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Weeks Middle School
Brody Middle School
McCombs Middle School
Colleges most students attend after graduation Univeristy of Iowa
Iowa State University
Des Moines Area Community College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Paul M Williamson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (515) 242-7517

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Virtual school
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
High school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Univeristy of Iowa
Iowa State University
Des Moines Area Community College
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
Summer college prep programs
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2600 SW 9th St
Des Moines, IA 50315
Website: Click here
Phone: (515) 242-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Orchard Place School
Des Moines, IA


Ruby Van Meter School
Des Moines, IA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT