Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lincoln High School 1

Posted August 13, 2014
- a community member
Children can easily not go to school and jip classes and there will be no call to parents. Students are allowed to graduate with all F's. My sister graduated in 2010 with all F's. She never went to gym class and skipped school all the time and her mother never knew as there were no calls from the administration. She can read and write but only at a 7th grade level. Her brother, who can only read at a 5th grade level was pulled out and put into SEP so he could get the help he needs. My step-sister is about to graduate with F's as she is more worried about utilizing Lincoln's daycare (which only serves to encourage teens to get pregnant young.) There are lots of fights at this school and the school police are called constantly.
1 person found this helpful

Lincoln High School 4

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
All six of my children went to school there. Three daughters went on to higher education and graduating from UNI, Iowa and Drake. My son who will graduated this year will go on to Drake. The education and staff at Lincoln are excellent. When I read the reviews about kids not being able to read or graduate; uh maybe it's the parenting!


Lincoln High School 4

Posted March 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lincoln High School 5

Posted December 11, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Lincoln High School 1

Posted October 15, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Lincoln High School 5

Posted April 18, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Lincoln High School 4

Posted October 18, 2007
- a parent
This is one of the best high schools in Des Moines. But I am concerned about the lack of diversity there.

Lincoln High School 5

Posted October 18, 2007
- a parent
This school is wonderful. I used to live on the East Side but because I wanted my child to have a good education we moved to the South Side. Lincoln high school has some of the best staff out there. I would not want my child to go any where else.


Lincoln High School 3

Posted April 18, 2007
- a student
this school is wonderful but due to all of the construction its hectic. The biggest concern I have is the doors the only doors accessible by students is the front entrance and the back parking lot door, the rest of the doors have been replaced and have no door handles. Yet the staff has keys to open all the doors. The noise is so annoying it interrupts our learning and some times you cant even hear the teachers talk.

Lincoln High School 2

Posted April 24, 2005
- a former student
The quality of education at Lincoln is painfully obvious upon reading Liz's review. I graduated in 2003 and would estimate that at least 75% of the graduating class could barely read.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lincoln High School
2600 SW 9th St, Des Moines, IA  50315
(515) 242-7500
Last modified Lincoln High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lincoln High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top