Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Moulton Elementary School 2

Posted April 09, 2012
- a parent
My sons go to Moulton now, but hopefully will be changing. They have had superb teachers in kindergarten, first, second, third and fourth grades. They have been very lucky! Overall the school has had academic issues for years. The principle now is trying to change all of that but I'm not convinced that it is soon enough for my sons. I stand by the teachers that have taught my sons, but they are very good, very good boys behavior and academically, but there are too many kids that don't have parental supervision and are not involved with their children's education. Therefore, we have had some huge difficulty with safety lately. The principle and teachers are doing EVERYTHING that they can to curb this, but the parents are just not available to oversee their children's lives at this school. My son's go to the church across the street for the after school program and this has been a positive experience regarding the leaders of this program!!!!!!! BUT, there still are too many kids that do not have morals and values instilled in them. Therefore, like at the school the teachers and leaders HAVE to spend way too much of their time correcting instead of educating. My opinion only.

Moulton Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
The school is across the street from my church and children come in to the church building everyday of the week for a before school breakfast program and after school Haven programing. I eat supper with these children every evening before I go to work at UPS. It is a joy to see these children and learn from them. This school is in the most diverse neighborhood in the city of Des Moines. New immigrants come to Des Moines everyday through this neighborhood. this school deserves the very best to serve the population and its children.


Moulton Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a community member
Great atmosphere, embraces the community as well as the students, inspires excellence in academics/arts/fitness/literacy

Moulton Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2010
- a community member
This school is in the middle of a neighborhood that is extremely diverse, has many historic homes that are slowly but surely being restored, has probably the lowest per capita income in Des Moines but has the spirit of a giant. This school doesn't know the word 'can't' they do everything humanly possible to help the children and the parents succeed.

Moulton Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a community member
I love Moulton because that building and it's teachers provided my daughter and I with opportunities that we wouldn't have had in other schools. It's extended calendar, bonus days for additional learning, and caring teachers and administration all combined to give her a well-rounded education; and me a place to get recertified to teach amongst a staff that truly does know the meaning to teaching with heart. I say over and over again that building on the corner of Eighth and College streets is the best kept secret in Des Moines.


Moulton Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
The hard work it is doing in a difficult area make it a five start school. It's easy to see how dedicated and fantastic both the students and volunteers around the school are.

Moulton Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
The children are creative and courageous while facing many difficulties in their daily lives. The teachers care and go the extra mile. They have after school programs that are supportive, inspiring, and teach values for life.

Moulton Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
I love the diversity within the school, and the unique programming


Moulton Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
The kids and staff are gifted and great!

Moulton Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2010
- a community member
The teachers and the whole staff really take every child as a precious individual and work with them to realize the potential for being a member of the world community. The school has links with all kinds of community groups and children are able to meet and explore all kinds of possibilities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Moulton Elementary School
1541 8th St, Des Moines, IA  50314
(515) 242-8427
Last modified Moulton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Moulton Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top