Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Roosevelt High School 5

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
Roosevelt has excellent teachers that continuously push rigor. The administration is open and friendly, and students are clearly supportive of one another.

Roosevelt High School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a student
When asked which high school I attend, I'm always proud to say I go to TRHS. Teachers will go to the moon and back if you find yourself struggling. Something that stands out is that some of our teachers have Twitter and Facebook accounts, where they post their daily agendas and where you can ask them questions if you need to outside of class. E-mail is not always checked outside of school hours. We have a great sense of school spirit, best in the state I'd like to think. The student body is generally tame, nothing awful. Overall amazing and talented students, teachers, and administration.


Roosevelt High School 4

Posted October 03, 2012
- a student
Roosevelt is the best high school choice within the DMPS school district. The teachers genuinely care and are more than willing to stay after school to help with homework or answer parent or student questions. As long as the student wants to learn, the teacher is willing to help. Extracurricular activities are also strong at RHS; the debate and wrestling programs are nationally ranked, the fine arts programs are well-supported, and even though RHS may not be #1 in sports in the state, Roosevelt's school spirit is unrivaled. Roosevelt is also unique in that the school's demographics are highly diverse and the students are friendly and welcoming. Student groups intermingle and set cliques are hard to find. Although Roosevelt's courses are not rigorous, high-achieving students have the option to attend Central Academy which offers extremely rigorous IB and AP courses in nearly every subject. Students can attend Central Academy for all or part of the school day, are offered free transportation, and are not charged extra to attend.

Roosevelt High School 5

Posted July 15, 2011
- a student
Roosevelt is the best high school in the snow district. The fine arts program is amazing. The teachers there really encouraged me. The ones who don't want to learn or just get by will not do well here. If a student wants to learn this is the best school to go to.

Roosevelt High School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent


Roosevelt High School 5

Posted April 14, 2010
- a student
this is by far the best school in the district!

Roosevelt High School 1

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
I feel the education my daughter received at this school was far below par, she received all 'A's and yet, I don't believe she was ready for her college. All of the disruptions to class, she claims were almost daily. The principal was very sweet, but could not control the unruly children who went there

Roosevelt High School 2

Posted August 31, 2009
- a community member
The behavior of the students here is not very good. Many students don't care about the rules, and do whatever they wish. I don't feel safe at this school, because I don't know what will happen to me. The teachers and staff should discipline the students here more, and make sure they follow the rules. Students should also take their education more seriously. If not, I am sure many students will want to get away from this school and go to ones in the suburbs, or somewhere that isn't so badly behaved, as far a students go.


Roosevelt High School 5

Posted October 18, 2007
- a parent
I would say that out of the 5 high schools in Des Moines, Roosevelt and Lincoln are on top in terms of Education, Staff and Administration, students, and also Athletics.

Roosevelt High School 2

Posted April 24, 2007
- a parent
Roosevelt is on the decline. The behavioral standards have dropped over the last six years. Students have lost respect for the administration. Too many violent incidents have taken place. The students feel free to break the minor rules because they are not held accountable. This has created an atmosphere where more serious offenses have taken place. If discipline is not emphasized more parents will move to the suburbs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roosevelt High School
4419 Center St, Des Moines, IA  50312
(515) 242-7272
Last modified Roosevelt High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Roosevelt High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top