Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Des Moines, IA
Students enrolled: 1,659
 

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

12 reviews of this school


Roosevelt High School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a student
When asked which high school I attend, I'm always proud to say I go to TRHS. Teachers will go to the moon and back if you find yourself struggling. Something that stands out is that some of our teachers have Twitter and Facebook accounts, where they post their daily agendas and where you can ask them questions if you need to outside of class. E-mail is not always checked outside of school hours. We have a great sense of school spirit, best in the state I'd like to think. The student body is generally tame, nothing awful. Overall amazing and talented students, teachers, and administration.

Roosevelt High School 4

Posted October 03, 2012
- a student
Roosevelt is the best high school choice within the DMPS school district. The teachers genuinely care and are more than willing to stay after school to help with homework or answer parent or student questions. As long as the student wants to learn, the teacher is willing to help. Extracurricular activities are also strong at RHS; the debate and wrestling programs are nationally ranked, the fine arts programs are well-supported, and even though RHS may not be #1 in sports in the state, Roosevelt's school spirit is unrivaled. Roosevelt is also unique in that the school's demographics are highly diverse and the students are friendly and welcoming. Student groups intermingle and set cliques are hard to find. Although Roosevelt's courses are not rigorous, high-achieving students have the option to attend Central Academy which offers extremely rigorous IB and AP courses in nearly every subject. Students can attend Central Academy for all or part of the school day, are offered free transportation, and are not charged extra to attend.


Roosevelt High School 5

Posted July 15, 2011
- a student
Roosevelt is the best high school in the snow district. The fine arts program is amazing. The teachers there really encouraged me. The ones who don't want to learn or just get by will not do well here. If a student wants to learn this is the best school to go to.

Roosevelt High School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
The amazing arts programs!

Roosevelt High School 5

Posted April 14, 2010
- a student
this is by far the best school in the district!


Roosevelt High School 1

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
I feel the education my daughter received at this school was far below par, she received all 'A's and yet, I don't believe she was ready for her college. All of the disruptions to class, she claims were almost daily. The principal was very sweet, but could not control the unruly children who went there

Roosevelt High School 2

Posted August 31, 2009
- a community member
The behavior of the students here is not very good. Many students don't care about the rules, and do whatever they wish. I don't feel safe at this school, because I don't know what will happen to me. The teachers and staff should discipline the students here more, and make sure they follow the rules. Students should also take their education more seriously. If not, I am sure many students will want to get away from this school and go to ones in the suburbs, or somewhere that isn't so badly behaved, as far a students go.

Roosevelt High School 5

Posted October 18, 2007
- a parent
I would say that out of the 5 high schools in Des Moines, Roosevelt and Lincoln are on top in terms of Education, Staff and Administration, students, and also Athletics.


Roosevelt High School 2

Posted April 24, 2007
- a parent
Roosevelt is on the decline. The behavioral standards have dropped over the last six years. Students have lost respect for the administration. Too many violent incidents have taken place. The students feel free to break the minor rules because they are not held accountable. This has created an atmosphere where more serious offenses have taken place. If discipline is not emphasized more parents will move to the suburbs.

Roosevelt High School 4

Posted May 12, 2005
- a student
Staff at Roosevelt is very concerned with student safety. Students are almost always out of control -- very little discipline. Still a very fun school to go to. Very high Graduation rate.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roosevelt High School
4419 Center St, Des Moines, IA  50312
(515) 242-7272
Last modified Roosevelt High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Roosevelt High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top