Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Weeks Middle School 1

Posted September 24, 2013
- a community member
I went to Weeks for all 3 years of middle school. I hated it, and because I wanted to kill myself. I was bullied terribly, and the counselors at the time told me to ignore it. Kids there threw threats at me and nothing was done to them for threatening me. It got to the point I was afraid to go to school, which I was suspended and punished for. I don't recommend this school.

Weeks Middle School 4

Posted March 07, 2010
- a parent
My daughter attended weeks during the 2006-7 school year. She was challenged, and given the opportunity to get into the advanced programming. She is now a junior, and able to graduate early. I find that Weeks is a part of her success of being a good student (along with her awesome parents of course). I now have a son who is in the Weeks district, but being enrolled into McCombs. I am fighting to put my child into Weeks so that he can be given the same opportunities, learn from fantastic teachers, and educated programming. I would recommend weeks to those who are actively involved in their child's education.


Weeks Middle School
no rating

Posted May 19, 2009
- a parent
my student came here at the beginning of the 2008-2009 school year, she use to be a great a-b nd ocasionally a c student throughout the year her grades have dropped mostly because of the princibles, teachers, and sometimes students.. i wouldn't recremend this school right away...

Weeks Middle School 1

Posted September 30, 2008
- a parent
My student transfeed here from another school. This school is run more like a juvenile detention center. They do not listen before they hand down punishments, and ask students to tell on others to have their punishment decreased... you pull up to drop of child off and it is so segregated it is scary.

Weeks Middle School 4

Posted May 08, 2008
- a parent
My son transitioned to Weeks after the Downtown School in Des Moines. We are pleased with the academic level of the teaching and his rapidly improved test scores in the 6th grade. While the neighborhood is clearly lower income, we do live here and like the area and the school. My son knows there are rough kids, but found the risk of bullies is comparable to that in his previous school of 'upper class' kids. I have found the team of principals to be excellent and engaged with our child; I find the building clean and modern; and the advisors support our child's progress.


Weeks Middle School 1

Posted February 03, 2008
- a parent
this school is horrible, theres drugdealing, bullys picking on nerds and people set things on fire i would have to say that you should stay awayfrom here

Weeks Middle School 5

Posted April 07, 2007
- a parent
I think Weeks is an excellent school. When we moved in the district, my child was shy and timid. The teachers helped her in her transition by adapting classroom activities to giver her more opportunities to meet people and make new friends. Since my child began attending Weeks, she has been challenged more academically. She has also enjoyed participating in clubs and athletics as well. One thing that could have made her experience better is if they had a 'mock trial' team to participate in events against other schools. She wants to become a lawyer and mock trial really helps in her motivation. Other than that, I am very pleased with Weeks.

Weeks Middle School 4

Posted October 06, 2003
- a parent
I wish the school had a more optimistic attitude. They seem to have given up on the influence they could have in changing the course in a childs life.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Weeks Middle School
901 East Park Ave, Des Moines, IA  50315
(515) 242-8449
Last modified Weeks Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Weeks Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top