Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cowles Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
My sons current teacher Ms Stacey Jones has really helped him become more independent and conscious of other students.

Cowles Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Students are taught to care about and engage with their communities at school and home.


Cowles Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
My son has attended Cowles since he was 4 and the teachers and staff care for each child. The instruction is amazing and they actively communicate with parents!

Cowles Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2014
- a parent
We are truly blessed to have access to a school like this. I love the individualized hands on style of learning. The teachers are highly educated not only in the area of academics, but also in the way they nurture each child's development. Since each child truly works at their own pace, the sky's the limit when it comes to academic progress. Some of the kids in the junior high are doing College level work, but what's even more impressive is that most of the kids at Cowles love going to school.

Cowles Elementary School 5

Posted November 07, 2012
- a parent
One of the best Schools in Des Moines. We are extremely lucky to have both of our children in this school. The fact that there are 700 kids on the waiting list is testimony to the education that is provided. Des Moines Scoll Board should take note and expand Montessori education in Des Moines


Cowles Elementary School 5

Posted October 19, 2012
- a parent
Cowles has been a wonderful environment for our two children. Many of the teachers are over-the-top committed and involved not just to their own classrooms, but also to building a strong community. Children are engaged in the learning process. The waiting list issue is frustrating, but the one star reviews illustrate how much people want to have their children at Cowles... hopefully Cowles can figure out a more transparent waiting list process.

Cowles Elementary School 5

Posted December 12, 2011
- a parent
I am lucky to have my child in this school! The curiosity of my child is nurtured and supported with the teachers and staff! I only hope, someday, Des Moines will have it's own public Montessori high school available to us!

Cowles Elementary School 5

Posted November 15, 2010
- a parent
Fantastic school. My son goes is three and will be with the same teacher through kindergarten. His teacher is very kind and patient. All the teachers I've talked to are very good with children and know what they are talking about. I had the opportunity to observe some classrooms and was very impressed with all the teachers I saw. I am so glad that I found this school for my son and know he will get a great education here!


Cowles Elementary School 4

Posted May 14, 2010
- a community member
The teachers actually know what their doing, and if not they'll find out. They pay attention to every student, even a bit too much at times. That is why I only give them four out of five stars, it is excellent but not always if the child is getting too much attention. The principal is kind and does care for their school, but they don't always handle conflicts the brightest way. The education, especially in middle school, is AMAZING! the one teacher wants you to really be the best you can be and if you don't want to, they won't push you. The education is so advanced that some students, even in fifth grade are working on algebra. Where a group of seventh and eighth graders are working on pre-calculus/calculus, and are UNDERSTANDING IT! Their teaching varieties are impressive, and I will miss the school when I leave.

Cowles Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
Cowles Montesorri School is a fantastic place. Using the Montesorri philosophy by helping the 'development of the human individual from birth to maturity within the context of his life-situation.' Our school is full of well rounded, caring, compassionate students. Lessons are given to children in small groups; and each class room is multi-aged. Studies include geography, biology, history, language, mathematics in all its branches, science, music and art. Exploration of each area is encouraged through trips outside the classroom; guests into the classroom and interactive invovement with others in the community.This inclusive approach to education fosters a feeling of connectedness to all humanity, and encourages their natural desire to make contributions to the world.

Nearby schools

Cowles Elementary School
6401 College Ave, Des Moines, IA  50324
(515) 242-7818
Last modified Cowles Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top