Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


North Scott Senior High School 5

Posted June 12, 2013
- a parent
This high school is exceptional. The district has the best National History Day program in the state; the history day sponsor was PBS teacher of the year two years ago. The music and drama programs are outstanding, with students being recognized at state level every year. The speech team has numerous all-state champions. Sports team compete at the highest level (4A) of Iowa football. The city of Eldridge with 5,000+ residents hosts the high school, junior high, administration building, and the largest of five elementaries in the district. You may see North High in a real estate listing -- this is not that school. The parts of the city of Davenport north of I-80 are in the North Scott district, not Davenport.

North Scott Senior High School 2

Posted January 29, 2012
- a student
Generally speaking it is a fine school but EXTREMELY clique filled and not just the students but the parents (it's easy to see where the students get it). Outsiders are not welcome but people who have been in the community a while often aren't either. The academics are NOT good as honors, AP, and college classes are dropped by the school at an alarming rate. The new teachers coming to the district are unprofessional are frankly have no place in the classroom. If you try and talk with administration about any problems you are ignored and the problem is blamed on "Your" stupidityAs for extracurriculars, unless you or your child is in football they will get no support. The programs are fine but the teachers who are in charge are retiring and essentially not being picked up by any other teachers so the days of any decent programs will soon be gone. Honestly if you are even considering this district you should turn your head around towards Bettendorf (sports), Pleasant Valley (academics), Davenport Central (music), or Assumption (religion).


North Scott Senior High School 5

Posted August 20, 2010
- a student
great teachers, really helpful and supportive. classes are challenging and fun. school leadership is very understanding and strict.

North Scott Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a community member
Good academically, athletically, musically - a great well-rounded school.

North Scott Senior High School 4

Posted August 09, 2006
- a parent
As a former student, and now a parent of children that are in the system and heading to this very school I can say that my children's experience are much better than my own. Where as in Davenport, N.S.H.S did a service for my son and aided in his excelling beyond what he had been stuck in at the other system. I give great creedance to his growth academically to this school. A teacher that I had during my time there is still there, and is an excellent person/teacher/guide. The extra activities available are not exactly above and beyond, but aid in the area of growth as well. Drama, art, sports, ect. There are several to choose from-if someone gets into that line of interest. No complaints from my children in this school district-at all! However-I am not pleased with the guidance/principle area. Seems to need some work, perhaps?


North Scott Senior High School 4

Posted July 28, 2006
- a former student
Someone said in a previous review that 'Teachers seem unwilling to help students who struggle....' As a graduate of North Scott, I do not think that is true at all. In junior high and high school there were times I didn't understand the subject that was studied. I could go to the teacher and tell them what I did and didn't understand and they would take time (before and/or after school and/or during their free period) to explain to me and help me to bettwe understand. The teachers are willing, but it's also up to the student to ask for the help because aside from test scores a teacher can't always tell when the student requires help in the subject. Overall, I think the district is good and effective but it's also up to the child's willingness to learn, participate, and to know when to ask for and receive help.

North Scott Senior High School 1

Posted May 09, 2005
- a parent
It is apparent that you are not welcomed at this school. During the two years our daughter has went from the A-B honor roll to the dumpster! Honor program is all politics! Degree of which teacher's getting involved with parents is zero, and if problems do arise it is literally impossible to accomplish progression due to lack of cooperation by counselors, teachers, and principle. They ignore you and your child. If your child has difficulty teaching themselves then this school is not for you. Activities are all about who's child you are and how much money you have.

North Scott Senior High School 4

Posted January 13, 2005
- a parent
Availability of extra curricular activities is good. there are many thngs kids can do, they need to just be better publicity. Academic programs are good and I hope we contiue to improve. This school though, has ALOT of bias. Who you are, what grade you are in, who your parents are,personal preferences by teachers,etc, definitely impact your childs success in his chosen area of participation. There is ALOT of politics in this small town high school and it's something that seems to be ongoing over the years, and will take YEARS to change. Parental involvement is high, but exclusive,meaning you may not feel truly welcome in some 'clubs'.


North Scott Senior High School 5

Posted November 04, 2004
- a parent
I found this school system very good for my children, however I am hearing that it's tough to break through the click system (Meaning if you didn't go to this school system as a grade schooler or Junior High student) then the acceptence level is very low. Some things never change which is really too bad!

North Scott Senior High School 3

Posted August 25, 2004
- a former student
The principal is unwilling to help students that need temporary help. Teacher quality is overall pretty good.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Scott Senior High School
200 South 1st St, Eldridge, IA  52748
(563) 285-9631
Last modified North Scott Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Scott Senior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top