Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Evansdale, IA
Students enrolled: 528
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Poyner Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2014
- a teacher
Poyner Elementary is a school with a caring and hardworking staff, dedicated to the success and academic growth of their students. The students enjoy coming to school because it is a safe and nurturing environment to be in. Go Panthers!

Poyner Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2014
- a teacher
Poyner is an amazing school to work at. The staff are friendly and fun to be around.


Poyner Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
Great school. The staff is friendly and good with the kids. I love the safety precautions that are taken.

Poyner Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2014
- a parent
The staff is friendly, caring and helpful. School is in a great location and the building is well taken care of inside and out. Teachers are always quick to answer and questions or concerns that you have.

Poyner Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2014
- a teacher
This is the most amazing building I have ever worked in. The staff cares about each and every student and will stop at nothing to help students succeed. The building is welcoming and open and there is always a ton of student work and celebrations posted throughout the halls. Our music programs are AMAZING thanks to our wonderful specialist team. Administration works together for the betterment of all students and staff. We love our community and have the best students, parents, and community members around! Evansdale is a wonderful place to raise a family and a great place to send your kids to school! We serve all levels of students with special needs - from cognitive delay to advanced and provide amazing services across the spectrum. You will not be disappointed! We love our school!


Poyner Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2014
- a parent
Poyner is a great school. Starting with the wonderful teachers my son has had, the principle, and all other staff that make the school day possible. They are all great about listening to their students, great open communication with parents, and open door policy to come and visit your child's classroom! They have great programs for every level learner to help them be successful and find each students strengths. We love Poyner, and look forward to the next several years as all four of our boys attend for K-5 grade.

Poyner Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2014
- a parent
Poyner is a great school for my kids. They love their teachers and the atmosphere is positive and makes learning top priority. The school itself is clean and new, such a nice building!! The students are encouraged to become leaders and are rewarded for role model behavior. The school is also involved with anti-bullying tactics and I feel the teachers take this very seriously. The music program along with all the other extra activities offered (math/reading nights) are loved by all.

Poyner Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2014
- a teacher
Poyner has a caring staff who put the students' needs first. A great place to learn.


Poyner Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2014
- a parent
The staff and teachers are wonderful role models for our children. Very focused and driven to make the best of every student that comes in their classrooms. Beautiful facility that houses a variety of educational opportunities that keeps the community active in the lives of our children. The Staff at Poyner are open to discussion and always looking for ways to improve!

Poyner Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2009
- a community member
We have a great building, wonderful teachers who actually care about the students beyond just teaching them, administration staff who are involved with the students every day. The computer lab is a good one, the food is tasty, and the atmosphere in the school is a very positive one. We have many parent and grandparent volunteers who also help to assure the children get the attention they need to achieve the best they can. It may not be the biggest school in the area, but it is one where the children are encouraged to excel, the teachers care about the children, and parents are involved and making an effort to ensure all of this happens.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Poyner Elementary School
1138 Central Ave, Evansdale, IA  50707
(319) 433-1534
Last modified Poyner Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Poyner Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top