Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harmony Jr. Sr. High School

Public | 7-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 11, 2013

Harmony's campus is one of the nicest campus's around. A lot of teachers quit but they hired more. Honestly..if you move to one of those larger schools, you have many more fights and then you get problems with drugs. Learning wise, it's alright, but 'some' of the teachers need to ask if you're doing alright when grades slip. We have small classes, and being a senior this year, they should be able to notice if something's wrong. On a different foot, we don't really have too many electives to choose from. Choir has suffered diminishing losses, and it's mainly only jr high now, with two or three high schoolers. Ag classes are almost the only other option for new transferring students, which isnt bad but when new students arrive in, they should be able to pick something that might help them with the prefession they might go in or what they'll do in life. Also, this is the last thing ill bring up. Harmony students should be made to do the junior research paper. That's what gets them ready for college research assignments unless they have lost all faith in the students. :/ -J.K.


Posted September 8, 2012

I attended this school back a decade or so ago. I was a troubled student, with extremely high ITBS test scores, yet problematic grades. The mathematics department was a joke, and after I left the district it was discovered that I had a learning disability that caused me to transpose numbers. This should have been discovered by the teachers at the school, but they were more focused on giving me in school suspension for lack of homework than discovering the root of the problem. I would hesitate to send my own children to this school if I was still in the area for that reason alone.


Posted July 30, 2012

I will begin this year as the new 7-12 Principal and I am very excited about the opportunities Harmony CSD offers the students. This year we are implementing a 1:1 laptop initiative and we are going to offer an opportunity for students to take classes through a Career Academy. Although the district is small, we offer many chances for students to prepare for life beyond high school. We encourage students to take classes to earn college credit. Our facilities are among the nicest I have seen and we are proud of our staff. If you are not a part of our district I encourage you to stop and we can discuss the opportunities that Harmony can offer to your child(ren). Please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions. Thank you, Mrs. Heather Lightfoot
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 17, 2012

In full disclosure I attended this school; I am not a parent of a student there. At the time, the school was decent, with the basic courses available. However, the question is not whether the school is adequate, but whether it prepares students for success in the post-secondary world. In college I quickly found that students from other schools were much better prepared than I was, and I graduated at the top of my high school class. It has become my opinion that small schools with dwindling resources will continue to fight for independence even when the development of consolidated school districts would provide for better opportunities and increased student growth. If the preparation of students for success in the post-secondary academic world is desired, there are benefits to collaboration. It is unfortunate when petty arguments and historical "school pride" stand in the way of the ultimate goal: student learning.


Posted November 11, 2011

We are a family of this school district. This school is extremely dysfunctional. There are a group of community members who bully the community, including the schools. There are extreme cases of nepotism in which family members working for family members allows these people to make their own rules and dominate those staff and parents who just want what is best for kids rather than selfish infighting which causes our school to lose kids to other districts with open enrollment. We are encouraging parents to come forward with their concerns also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2011

The intent of this web site is to sell advertisement. The makers of this site could care less about our school. But while on that subject, Harmony is a great school. The teachers and staff are good and really care about your child's education. Kent Muntz
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

We are parents of this district also. This is a mean group of people. I pray and hope for a merger or a shut down so that our children can go to a better school. These people do not care about our children's needs. Please send out a survey of how we parents feel the school is doing in addressing our children's needs. You will be enlightened to hear what the people really think. Let us assure you, the truth will come out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

I think this is great place to send your child. It is one of the few schools in America that you know everyone in your class. The "good ol boy" network is a complete misunderstanding. There is no discrimination because you don't have a "family name" Further, never take education advice from someone who types "hink twice"


Posted August 13, 2010

As a person interested in education, I am excited about the positive changes the school will take under the leadership of the new Superintendent, Mr. Dennis Phelps.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 81%
Black 3% 5%
Hispanic 3% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A39%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

33727 Route J40
Farmington, IA 52626
Phone: (319) 592-3192

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Mount Pleasant Middle School
Mount Pleasant, IA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT