Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public district
Iowa City, IA
Students enrolled: 220
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bohumil Shimek Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
I have never met a more connected, more wonderful group of teachers than I have at this school. Every teacher knows every students name and they are the best group of "cheerleaders" that I could ask for for my children.

Bohumil Shimek Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
The kids come home with home work to show inner abilities and also to make sure that they are able to continue to grow in their abilities and knowledge.


Bohumil Shimek Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
These kids have so much determination and respect. They work together and are able to persevere through the most difficult of situations because they have that incredible bond with each other.

Bohumil Shimek Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
By showing compassion and helping build integrity and honesty in each student, in turn, the students truly have respect for the staff, each other and themselves.

Bohumil Shimek Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
This school embraces each child with open arms. This school is a community of families who truly embody love and compassion. The caring and supportive staff have always been a great resource and are the most genuine of people.


Bohumil Shimek Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
This school encourages honesty and friendship as well as building strong personal relationships with everyone who enters the building. The staff work with the kids to encourage fairness and help promote integrity.

Bohumil Shimek Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
I love the one on one attention that the kids are able to get from this school. The teachers and staff are all willing to help out every child whenever the need arises. This is the BEST community that you can be part of. Everyone looks out for one another and there are friendships blooming around every corner. A great place to call "home"!

Bohumil Shimek Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2015
- a parent
As a parent of a special needs child, Shimek has been wonderful. The teachers are well trained to deal with kids of the autism spectrum and the principle is very hard working and accessible. I think it is a great elementary school and we bought a house in the district in large part because of our experience with Shimek.


Bohumil Shimek Elementary School 2

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
Shimek is a huge disappointment. Teachers use black-line masters for every subject (boilerplate Math & reading). No creativity, teacher construction, care or inspiration in developing units. Minimal writing, & no written feedback on student work in any subject area. Home communication limited to black-line (photocopied from workbook) newsletters that have no value. Students are all subjected to the same, soulless instruction and no effort is made to differentiate for unique learning needs. Very little community connection, service or civic learning (beyond collections), field trips, thematic instruction, projects, or any meaningful instruction. Parents disconnected. (2 teacher written newsletters in 4 years). No teacher websites, blogs, emails, newsletters, or other communication to support parents in understanding how kids are growing, or how to extend learning from home. Minimal response to emails. School garden, created by parents and community, is ignored by administration and teachers. Culture of fear permeates school curriculum, rules and overall engineering. Mediocre leadership altogether. Education is what we'd expect from a blighted urban school, not ICCSD.

Bohumil Shimek Elementary School 3

Posted February 23, 2014
- a parent
Shimek has the worlds best before and after school program! It has a beautiful campus, And a tightknit family community Shimek has the hardest working principal and custodian you will ever meet Academically, It doesn't seem that science or social studies are taught at Shimek Field trips are rare. The hardest part for me as a Shimek parent is communication from teachers does not happen at all (Beyond parent teacher conferences twice a year) Because there is no communication (I may be wrong) But my experiences they do language arts and some math all day long. I would love to trust that there is a thoughtful, comprehensive curriculum, With meaningful tasks, Community connections, And a great deal of care. Almost all of the teacher prep time Seems to be dedicated to meetings, Which Precludes teachers from Constructing meaningful lessons on a wide variety of subjects. Elementary teachers in most other buildings Prepare weekly newsletters for families To track what is being covered In school. I'm not aware that any Shimek teachers do this. there is also too much emphasis on safety

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bohumil Shimek Elementary School
1400 Grissel Place, Iowa City, IA  52245
(319) 688-1160
Last modified Bohumil Shimek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bohumil Shimek Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top