Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bohumil Shimek Elementary School 3

Posted February 23, 2014
- a parent
Shimek has the worlds best before and after school program! It has a beautiful campus, And a tightknit family community Shimek has the hardest working principal and custodian you will ever meet Academically, It doesn't seem that science or social studies are taught at Shimek Field trips are rare. The hardest part for me as a Shimek parent is communication from teachers does not happen at all (Beyond parent teacher conferences twice a year) Because there is no communication (I may be wrong) But my experiences they do language arts and some math all day long. I would love to trust that there is a thoughtful, comprehensive curriculum, With meaningful tasks, Community connections, And a great deal of care. Almost all of the teacher prep time Seems to be dedicated to meetings, Which Precludes teachers from Constructing meaningful lessons on a wide variety of subjects. Elementary teachers in most other buildings Prepare weekly newsletters for families To track what is being covered In school. I'm not aware that any Shimek teachers do this. there is also too much emphasis on safety

Bohumil Shimek Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2012
- a parent
Shimek is one of the best elementary schools in Iowa City! It rates at a 7 on the Great Schools list which is based on ITBS scores! Both my girls go there and they love it!


Bohumil Shimek Elementary School 1

Posted March 27, 2012
- a parent
Shimek was the top rated elementary school in Iowa City---25 years ago. When we moved to the Shimek area, we expected the best. In the Kindergarten class that was true. Now that our child is in second grade, Shimek has lost its shine. Bulling runs rampet right in front of the teacher. Class work looks like they are still in Kindergarten But, worst of all, the teachers we have had so far, except for Kindergarten, do not impress us as being motivated to teach. They rely on assessments, other testing, etc. Real teaching is not only about testing.

Bohumil Shimek Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2010
- a parent
Our children have attended Shimek Elementary for the past 4 years and we couldn't be more pleased with their educational experience! Everything from the lovely wooded setting to the caring and competent staff is first rate. Our children have enjoyed the academic enrichment programming as well as band, orchestra and a full array of extracirricular experiences including chess club and foreign language studies. All of this and more is available in a smaller and personal setting which makes Shimek a wonderful place to learn and grow!

Bohumil Shimek Elementary School 1

Posted June 03, 2009
- a parent
Shimek has the reputation for being one of the top schools in the IC district, because of its test scores and its small size. After having our child there for one year (3rd grade), we can honestly say it's overrated. Teachers are driven to maintain the school's academic reputation, yet do not create an environment where children can truly learn. Children who physically or socially bully others, whether in the classroom or on the playground are not adequately disciplined. The children of the upper middle class get away with too much including race- and gender- motivated abuse. The principal's 'conflict resolution' approach, in which bully and victim are put together to air their views, *does not* work. If you want your child to learn, put him or her in a school that follows through on the district's 'zero tolerance' policy regarding bullying. Happily, our child is transferring to another school.


Bohumil Shimek Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2008
- a parent
Shimek is the best Elememtary school in this district. It is a small school, so students recieve more teacher interaction. The staff and teachers, take the time to meet your needs and concerns. They have a great after-school program, that has thier own band and includes students. they have been known to play out in the community. That is a great program, get kids motovated.

Bohumil Shimek Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2008
- a parent
Shimek has been wonderful for my blind daughter. They have gone out of their way to help us get the materials that she needs in braille. I am looking forward to my youngest going to shimek, I can't say enough about this school other then the staff, teachers, and Dr. Towers are wonderful. Even the after school program has started the After School Specials Band, with all students who sing and or play instruments. They are awesome! Thank you so much.....

Bohumil Shimek Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2007
- a parent
This has been a very good school for our whole family! we love it!


Bohumil Shimek Elementary School 5

Posted January 11, 2007
- a parent
We love Shimek - from its beautiful setting in the woods, its cozy building, to its supportive staff and parents - we can't imagine a better place for our child to begin his schooling. We can write teachers and staff about questions or concerns, and they respond promptly and professionally. Its relatively small size also helps make it a very special school - for example, the principal and staff seem to know all the kids' names. We feel very lucky to have our child at Shimek.

Bohumil Shimek Elementary School 5

Posted January 06, 2007
- a parent
Shimek is not just a school, it's a small family of wonderful professionals and caring parents. The office staff is second to none, and the principal, Dr. Towers is extremely personable. He has made our family feel so welcome and is hands on in every faction of the school operation. Expect to see him outside in the morning greeting kids, available in the office, and monitoring traffic in the afternoons. An alpha teacher, Ms. White, has also made our experience worthwhile thus far. Her dedication in the classroom is admirable and her planning and activities are inclusive of all subject areas.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bohumil Shimek Elementary School
1400 Grissel Place, Iowa City, IA  52245
(319) 688-1160
Last modified Bohumil Shimek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bohumil Shimek Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews.