Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Iowa City, IA
Students enrolled: 547

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Grant Wood Elementary School 5

Posted July 04, 2014
- a parent
My son has attended Grant Wood for 4 years. He loves both his teachers and the friends that he has made. All of his teachers have had great communication with us. We could not be happier with his school.

Grant Wood Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2010
- a parent
My daughter Chloe is finishing up 1st grade at Grant Wood. Her teacher Mrs. Holland is wonderful and last years Mrs. Ryan hugs Chloe every time she see's her. My daughter loves her school, her teachers and piers. Chloe is reading at 2nd grade level, which to me means, the school is doing a great job educating!


Grant Wood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
My children went there and had a great time! Paul Davis was an excellent principal and the teachers were really caring also.

Grant Wood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Grantwood was a great place for my kids to go to elementary school. Paul Davis was the best principal ever-----and the teachers were awesome. My kids loved Grantwood!!!!!!

Grant Wood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 21, 2009
- a parent
Mrs. Callahan has made many positive changes since becoming principaltwo years ago. Grant Wood has improved quite a bit since she has come on board.


Grant Wood Elementary School 4

Posted April 10, 2009
- a parent
The school has improved with new leadership. I think there are other schools in the district that have better teacher-student ratios. There are a few teachers who are questionable...but overall the school is much better than it was under the previous leadership.

Grant Wood Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2008
- a parent
Grant Wood Elementary has a wonderful new playgrgound, an immense new gym, the school district's Safety Village, an authenic Iowa prairie, a lovely city park attached to the school grounds, a very active PTO, terrific teachers, a low student-teacher ratio and the most culturally diverse student population in the district.

Grant Wood Elementary School 3

Posted January 23, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Grant Wood Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2005
- a parent
Whenever my son and I enter the school, we are greeted warmly by everyone-faculty, staff, even students. It seems that there is always a happy student holding a door open for me as I enter and exit the school! I know that if I have a question or concern, it will be handled immediately. My son has several 'advocates' supporting him daily. I cannot tell you how comforting that is. I went to Grant Wood Elementary and get a kick out of seeing some of the same teachers still working their magic.

Grant Wood Elementary School 4

Posted December 31, 2003
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grant Wood Elementary School
1930 Lakeside Dr, Iowa City, IA  52240
(319) 688-1180
Last modified Grant Wood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Grant Wood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top