Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grant Wood Elementary School 5

Posted July 04, 2014
- a parent
My son has attended Grant Wood for 4 years. He loves both his teachers and the friends that he has made. All of his teachers have had great communication with us. We could not be happier with his school.

Grant Wood Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2010
- a parent
My daughter Chloe is finishing up 1st grade at Grant Wood. Her teacher Mrs. Holland is wonderful and last years Mrs. Ryan hugs Chloe every time she see's her. My daughter loves her school, her teachers and piers. Chloe is reading at 2nd grade level, which to me means, the school is doing a great job educating!


Grant Wood Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
My children went there and had a great time! Paul Davis was an excellent principal and the teachers were really caring also.

Grant Wood Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Grantwood was a great place for my kids to go to elementary school. Paul Davis was the best principal ever-----and the teachers were awesome. My kids loved Grantwood!!!!!!

Grant Wood Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 21, 2009
- a parent
Mrs. Callahan has made many positive changes since becoming principaltwo years ago. Grant Wood has improved quite a bit since she has come on board.


Grant Wood Elementary School 4

Posted April 10, 2009
- a parent
The school has improved with new leadership. I think there are other schools in the district that have better teacher-student ratios. There are a few teachers who are questionable...but overall the school is much better than it was under the previous leadership.

Grant Wood Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2008
- a parent
Grant Wood Elementary has a wonderful new playgrgound, an immense new gym, the school district's Safety Village, an authenic Iowa prairie, a lovely city park attached to the school grounds, a very active PTO, terrific teachers, a low student-teacher ratio and the most culturally diverse student population in the district.

Grant Wood Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2005
- a parent
Whenever my son and I enter the school, we are greeted warmly by everyone-faculty, staff, even students. It seems that there is always a happy student holding a door open for me as I enter and exit the school! I know that if I have a question or concern, it will be handled immediately. My son has several 'advocates' supporting him daily. I cannot tell you how comforting that is. I went to Grant Wood Elementary and get a kick out of seeing some of the same teachers still working their magic.


Grant Wood Elementary School 4

Posted November 30, 2003
- a parent
We have two children at Grant Wood and our experience has been wonderful. Wonderful communication from the teachers, and the quality of the teachers we have had is great! Mrs. Lawrence provides outstanding leadership as the principal, and really makes an effort to make the students feel good about themselves. The school also offers a good before and after school program.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grant Wood Elementary School
1930 Lakeside Dr, Iowa City, IA  52240
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (319) 688-1180
Last modified Grant Wood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top