Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public district
Iowa City, IA
Students enrolled: 372
 

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Herbert Hoover Elementary School 4

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
Hoover is a wonderful school. Teachers work together as a team, children are made to feel welcome and a part of the school community. I don't know what a previous poster means about the "food fights". As a parent of 2 children in Hoover I think this is an issue among a few students - not the school as a whole. Issues with curriculum are not school decisions - those are handed down from district administrators. Having had a child in another after-school program in Iowa City, I can say that HOCC (the program at Hoover) is fantastic. They offer a variety of activities (cooking club, art club, etc.) and the staff are genuinely engaged with the children - not simple observers.

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 1

Posted April 26, 2013
- a parent
A frustratingly bad school. It all depends on the teacher your child gets, some are great, some terrible. My child had one great teacher, and two terrible ones. The school has had 5 principals in the past 6 years, and another one is due in the Fall. The food fights at lunch are disheartening, and my child refuses to eat at school anymore. We are in the process of transferring our child out. Even that is very difficult.


Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted December 31, 2012
- a parent
I don't think the previous poster understands what a SINA designation means. In a marvelous school district like Iowa City, the NCLB act is a farce. If your schools are performing at high levels and your kids are getting great scores, there is not much room for improvement. Therefore, they show no improvement and get labelled. Hoover is a wonderful school. I was very worried about overcrowding but somehow they have done a wonderful job under adverse conditions. My child, who had some struggles, has had 3 teachers there, one was good, the other two were amazing! I honestly have cried thinking how different things would be if he had had a different Kindergarten teacher. And the after school program is great. In general, the staff and kids love each other. I am completely satisfied with the supervision they get. Their staffing exceeds that necessary by law. (They also have the best food for a before and after school program.) *The principal position is vacant at the moment and the inerim principal starts next week so I didn't rate that part.

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 1

Posted August 29, 2012
- a parent
This is a now a school in need of assistance. It was the school everyone wanted to transfer to from other schools that were labeled schools in need of assistance. Classes are overcrowded and understaffed. Difficult to schedule time to meet with the principal or teachers. Resources are spread thin and has changed to a curriculum is a one size fits all with little flexibility to meed kids individual needs. The before and after school program is more a babysitting service with little actual supervision and little involvement from the staff. Staff regularly allow students to roam halls and other areas without supervision.

Herbert Hoover Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 19, 2009
- a community member
The staff here keep the kids wanting to be involved. From reading and math, to pacers(early a.m. track walking) and sports, involvement in the community and of course sports. Friendships are bonded, new friends welcomed.


Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2009
- a parent
Teachers spend their entire careers at this school. When the teachers love the school that much, the students benefit. All the staff know and care about all the students and their family. Can't beat it.

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2005
- a parent
i think hoover school is the best school i iowa city, they have the best teachers.

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2003
- a parent
Hoover Elementary is simply outstanding. Iowa City has very high educational standards, and Hoover still compares quite favorably. We are the parents of 3 students, all ethnic minorities, and the acceptance they have received at Hoover has been amazing.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Herbert Hoover Elementary School
2200 East Court St, Iowa City, IA  52245
(319) 688-1110
Last modified Herbert Hoover Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Herbert Hoover Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top