Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public district
Iowa City, IA
Students enrolled: 266
 

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

8 reviews of this school


Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted January 20, 2015
- a parent
Our daughters attended Horace Mann when we moved from Massachusetts. I was skeptical when I saw the low standardized scores that Horace Mann received but it was a great school in a wonderful family neighborhood. There was a high number of children of foreign grad students and English was their second language which was reflected in the standardized testing scores. We loved the diversity and loved our daughter's teachers. Our daughters attended Southeast Junior High and are now at City High School and have always tested very high on the ITBS tests which I think is a testament to the quality of education at Horace Mann, Southeast and City High.

Horace Mann Elementary School 4

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Horace Mann is a strong, diverse (sociology-economically, racially, citizen status, family make-up etc) community supported by intelligent, dedicated and accessible teachers and administration. The joyful and vibrant energy of the school is enhanced by is proximity to the skillfully landscaped North Market Square Park, local shops and Iowa City's downtown. Horace Mann is known additionally for its strong school spirit and pride. 4/5 Starts since the lovely old building requires some updating.


Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted March 03, 2012
- a parent
Great neighborhood school with good community support. Test scores are overrated (go figure) and dont tell the true story.

Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2011
- a parent
This school is amazing! I am on my 2nd round and still love it! Don't always believe the test scores as a gauge of the academic commitment of this school, these teacher are the best and have helped my daughter on her way to Junior High and she is exceeding expectations! You can tell the teachers love their job and the kids and want all to reach their potential! It is such a diverse school!

Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Our children loved the environment Horace Mann staff provided.


Horace Mann Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 15, 2010
- a parent
It is a great multi-cultural school, with a wonderful pre-K program, family resource center, and caring, dedicated staff.

Horace Mann Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Small community atmosphere, very diverse, great teachers, my daughter and son were very happy and inspired to learn while there.

Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is in Horace Mann and our family thinks it's a great school! Test scores can be deceiving, so don't let that be the only factor in choosing a school. Horace Mann is lucky to have most of the children of foreign grad students at the University of Iowa attend their school, so there is much more cultural diversity than you would normally find in Iowa. This is also a reason why the ITBS scores would be lower, as you have many children who speak English as a second language. Of course, we see this exposure to different cultures as a huge benefit for our daughter. When we were looking at school districts a former Education Professor from UI told my husband that his top two choices for elem. schools in IC were Horace Mann and Longfellow based on the teachers, neighborhoods, economic and cultural diversity. We love it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Horace Mann Elementary School
521 North Dodge St, Iowa City, IA  52245
(319) 688-1145
Last modified Horace Mann Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Horace Mann Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top