Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted July 10, 2016
- a parent
Horace Mann is an excellent school. The small size of the school allows the staff to really get to know the kids. A strong PTO and many excellent teachers make Horace Mann a strong elementary school. Our two daughters flourished there. The mix of opportunities (more than you can take advantage of) but the safe and small (~250 students) feeling made them feel comfortable. They have extra support for both gifted/talented students with skills above grade level and paraeducator attention and extra language instruction for students that are behind grade level. Diverse mix of students -- recent immigrants, children of foreign university postdocs, and local kids from a variety of socioeconomic backgrounds. We chose this neighborhood for the school and the walkability.

Horace Mann Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted July 10, 2016
- a parent
The teachers and staff really watch out for each student. The district curriculum in respect (for people, self, property) is effective. Staff and teachers listen to parents.


Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted January 20, 2015
- a parent
Our daughters attended Horace Mann when we moved from Massachusetts. I was skeptical when I saw the low standardized scores that Horace Mann received but it was a great school in a wonderful family neighborhood. There was a high number of children of foreign grad students and English was their second language which was reflected in the standardized testing scores. We loved the diversity and loved our daughter's teachers. Our daughters attended Southeast Junior High and are now at City High School and have always tested very high on the ITBS tests which I think is a testament to the quality of education at Horace Mann, Southeast and City High.

Horace Mann Elementary School 4

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Horace Mann is a strong, diverse (sociology-economically, racially, citizen status, family make-up etc) community supported by intelligent, dedicated and accessible teachers and administration. The joyful and vibrant energy of the school is enhanced by is proximity to the skillfully landscaped North Market Square Park, local shops and Iowa City's downtown. Horace Mann is known additionally for its strong school spirit and pride. 4/5 Starts since the lovely old building requires some updating.

Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted March 03, 2012
- a parent
Great neighborhood school with good community support. Test scores are overrated (go figure) and dont tell the true story.


Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2011
- a parent
This school is amazing! I am on my 2nd round and still love it! Don't always believe the test scores as a gauge of the academic commitment of this school, these teacher are the best and have helped my daughter on her way to Junior High and she is exceeding expectations! You can tell the teachers love their job and the kids and want all to reach their potential! It is such a diverse school!

Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Our children loved the environment Horace Mann staff provided.

Horace Mann Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 15, 2010
- a parent
It is a great multi-cultural school, with a wonderful pre-K program, family resource center, and caring, dedicated staff.


Horace Mann Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Small community atmosphere, very diverse, great teachers, my daughter and son were very happy and inspired to learn while there.

Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is in Horace Mann and our family thinks it's a great school! Test scores can be deceiving, so don't let that be the only factor in choosing a school. Horace Mann is lucky to have most of the children of foreign grad students at the University of Iowa attend their school, so there is much more cultural diversity than you would normally find in Iowa. This is also a reason why the ITBS scores would be lower, as you have many children who speak English as a second language. Of course, we see this exposure to different cultures as a huge benefit for our daughter. When we were looking at school districts a former Education Professor from UI told my husband that his top two choices for elem. schools in IC were Horace Mann and Longfellow based on the teachers, neighborhoods, economic and cultural diversity. We love it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Horace Mann Elementary School
521 North Dodge St, Iowa City, IA  52245
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (319) 688-1145
Last modified Horace Mann Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top