Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Iowa City, IA
Students enrolled: 1,395
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Iowa City High School 5

Posted February 11, 2013
- a student
I graduated in 2012, and could not have been happier with the education I received. I was allowed to be a free thinker, to take charge of my own education, and to interact with my teachers on a level that was more comfortable than "I am teacher. LEARN." The new principal is incredibly friendly, personable, and tries to have an active interaction with every single student in the school. The teachers are brilliant, fun, and well educated in their fields.

Iowa City High School 1

Posted February 05, 2013
- a community member
Unfortunately this is not as good a school as West High, this has resulted in the school system forcing children that had been traditionally zoned for West High to go to City High even though their friends at Northwest are going to West.


Iowa City High School 5

Posted May 02, 2012
- a community member
City high is a great school. New principal is amazing. Great music and athletics. aP programs growing. Nice facilities.

Iowa City High School 5

Posted October 19, 2011
- a parent
City High is a great environment for students to learn, excell and become outstanding young adults. The administration and teachers are phenomonal and challenge the kids to be the best they can be.

Iowa City High School 5

Posted December 03, 2010
- a parent
My oldest child graduated in 2009, and my youngest is a sophomore at The School That Leads! Opportunities in music, athletics, drama, and other activities are amazing! Dozens of All-State musicians and a dynastic football program are just the lead stories of the great things happening at City High. CHS is an academic powerhouse, annually seeing $! millionn + in scholarships to grads! Alumni include a number of Rhodes Scholars and a Nobel Prize winner! It's a beautiful school and a great place to learn.


Iowa City High School 1

Posted November 17, 2010
- a parent
This school in on the School In Need of Assistance list due to the fact that they can't seem to educate the minority population in this town without shoving them in a special learning program. Test scores and privileged parents' reviews do not tell the whole story of a school.

Iowa City High School 0
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
Can't say enough good things about City High! My oldest graduated from City in 2008 and my middle child is attending now as a Freshman. He's loving high school and City provides many, many great opportunities for him to excel academically, socially, artistically/musically, and as an athlete. The coaches/sponsors do their utmost to make sure all the students that want to participate can. The teachers have routinely been great! His English and German teachers both communicated with his father and I within the 1st week of school! How great is that? With a school as large as City is, it's wonderful to know my child has teachers so committed to his success. Again, can't say enough good things about City! Great job - keep up the good work!

Iowa City High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers and coaches; and wonderful opportunities for students to excel and work toward excellence!


Iowa City High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
Easily one of the best public schools in the country. Their standardized test scores are head and shoulders above other high schools in Iowa as well as throughout the country. Their concert band has won two Grammys, and the teachers are truly the cream of the 'One-Room Schoolhouse' State's crop.

Iowa City High School 5

Posted January 21, 2009
- a student
It's good to be involved in city high sports. It's one of the majors athletic high school in the district. Keep up the good work city

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Iowa City High School
1900 Morningside Dr, Iowa City, IA  52245
(319) 688-1040
Last modified Iowa City High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Iowa City High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top