Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Horizon Elementary School 3

Posted January 07, 2014
- a parent
This school wants to be great. There are great teachers and staff here that really get to know the kids and are trying against insurmountable odds to make it a great place. Unfortunately, with severe overcrowding, this is, indeed, an impossible task. There are many great ideas that the school is trying hard to put into practice, but they seem to be struggling with. The new PBIS is a great idea on paper and if it was implemented consistently throughout the building, it would probably be effective at improving behaviors. Unfortunately, there are so many strict rules and procedures per district policy that contradict the very language of PBIS that I don't think it is applicable in this school. I don't necessarily blame the staff here. I blame the ridiculous amount of people crammed into this one building. I imagine they feel there is no other way to keep control over that many kids. As far as academics, yes, they are competitive. Test scores reflect the high academic standards. Until they deal with the overcrowding in a meaningful way -- that does not involve the district shuffling a handful of kids or teachers here or there -- I do not know how they can really improve.

Horizon Elementary School 5

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
We absolutely love Horizon Elementary School and the staff have been wonderful to my child.


Horizon Elementary School 1

Posted May 10, 2013
- a parent
Horizon Elementary is a perfect picture of everything that is wrong in public schooling today. Greatschools.org gives it a 10 based solely on the ITBS scores of the students at the school. The reason that the ITBS scores are so high is because the tests are the sole focus of everything that goes on at Horizon. Student needs are secondary to high scores. There is no time for hands on learning, interesting projects or in depth study. If you have any kind of concern, the teachers and administration will just tell you what you want to hear so that you will stop bothering them. Classes are huge and the teaching is uninspired to say the least. The main focus at Horizon is keeping everyone quiet and "on task" at all times, not actually learning. Students are consistently bribed with worthless treats and tokens so they can sit through to tedious test-based lessons. If you are interested in raising a robot that cannot think for themselves then Horizon is the place for you. If you want your kids to do real learning, look elsewhere. After three years here we won't be coming back.

Horizon Elementary School 5

Posted November 17, 2011
- a parent
This school rocks. The teachers are awesome, they understand the needs of the students, are vigilant about recognizing kids be additionally enriched and that can be enrolled in extended learning. The ELP program is excellent throughout the school district with ample support from the Friends of Johnston ELP.

Horizon Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2011
- a parent
Award winning National Blue Ribbon School. It is one of the best schools in iowa.


Horizon Elementary School 2

Posted February 09, 2011
- a parent
This school is seriously overcrowded. The classes have 26-30 students. There is no time for individualized learning. The inexperienced teachers are pushed to teach to the test and shun any form of out of the box creativity. Fancy buildings and all the latest bells and whistles have become a focus for the administration.

Horizon Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2011
- a parent
Great school! I have three children at with different educational needs and Horizon does an excellent job identifying students with unmet educational needs in order to provide programming that fills that gap.

Horizon Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
My daughter attened Horizon and the teacgers are awesome. Every time I had a question about something, they never made you feel they were too busy to talk with you. the people in the office are extremely nice and helpful.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Horizon Elementary School
5905 North West 100th St, Johnston, IA  50131
(515) 986-1121
Last modified Horizon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Horizon Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top