Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

5-12|Private
75 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Midwest Academy 5

Posted October 18, 2015
- a parent
I see a few negative reviews. But this place saved my son's life. His exact text to me one day" my old friend Mike is going to prison. Thanks for the decision you made with my life"

Midwest Academy 5

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
It was one of the hardest things are family did but now we are reaping the benefits of all the hard work I'm a better person my family gets along much better or whole and healthy one of the finest schools I've ever seen


Midwest Academy 3

Posted January 25, 2015
- a student
For parents that are at a last resort, Midwest academy could help you. I was kicked out of every public high school in the state of Illinois and had no choice but to go to a boarding school. Midwest academy had a 6 day a week schooling system that helped me graduate at 17, a year before I was supposed to. But as for the therapeutic part of the school, I was skeptical. I saw many questionable things at Midwest academy from the 8 months I was there in 2014. I personally was a student that followed the rules and never really got in trouble but still. " In Midwest academy terms" I relapsped the first day I got home from the school. I am thankful this school gave me my education but it is no cure for the real problems that have troubles me in recent years of my life.

Midwest Academy 5

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
Our son spent seven months in MWA. We are very happy to chose this school. The people working there know how to help troubled youth. Before MWA our son was at another boarding school but MWA helped him the most. Thank you to all employees in MWA. Sebastian's parents

Midwest Academy 4

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
Choosing to send our son to Midwest Academy was the most difficult decsision we ever made. At the time he had become a danger to himself and others through his involvement with illicit drugs. At Midwest he was kept safe, learned life skills and had time to mature. The rest of the family attended seminars which paralleled his and we all learned better life skills. Today he is in his second year of law school and taking on his life.


Midwest Academy 4

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
Midwest Academy was a lifesaver for our son. After graduating the program in one year he was a completely different young man. A person we all knew he could be before he started with drugs. Through the seminars, we as parents learned a lot as well. I would highly recommend this school and the program that is taught.

Midwest Academy 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
I credit Midwest Academy with saving my son's life and giving him a great future. It was there that he gained the life skills that were eluding him back at home. He learned to be accountable for his actions, how to communicate effectively with other people, how to enhance his strengths and improve upon his weaknesses. He became the leader and mentor he was meant to be and has developed an insightfulness that guides his decisions. Some kids don't succeed in a traditional setting. My son was one of those kids. I thank the Lord everyday for connecting us to Midwest Academy and giving my son the structure, discipline, and care that he needed. Ben Trane has cared for us like family, and we continue to check in with him regarding my son's progress. Midwest will always have my gratitude for restoring my son and, in turn, my family.

Midwest Academy 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
Our daugher was a student at Midwest Academy. From the very first phone call, we have found the staff to be extremly caring and concerned for the best welfare of the kids. They were very honest with us about what to expect and that it was a tough program. Sending your child to boarding school is never your first choice but sometimes it is your best choice. We have always had support from the entire staff both for ourself and for our daughter. If you are willing to put in the work to make your relationship with your child better, you will see postive results. My husband and I have helped to staff many seminars and now our daughter gives back as well. Using the tools that Midwest Academy gives you to help other familes becoem healthy again is a great way to keep your own family connected and healthy. Our daughter had been home now for almost one year and is doing fantastic. She has returned to the school on numerous occasions to help staff seminars and to visit with our "Iowa family". I would not hesitate to recomend this school.


Midwest Academy 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
I can say, without a doubt, that this school saved my daughter's life. I feel they had my daughter's best interest in mind at all times. Not only did I feel the place was safe for her to be at , but also felt that they were prepared to handle any situation.From the start of her 16 month stay there, I was happy at how well they immediately set up rules and made it very clear what their goals were for her and what rewards and consequences she would have for her behavior. I felt that they treated all kids the same, no favorites! I was also very happy to learn that they believed that the parents needed to be a part of the program and expected full cooperation from them in order for our children to move through their program.

Midwest Academy 4

Posted January 11, 2013
- a parent
My son was a student there from Dec 2010 to July 2011 and completed his High School education there. It is a computer self paced program and the students have to receive an 80% grade in order to pass the class. If not then they have to take the course over. My son went from D's & F's to A's & B's and is thankful that he had passed High School. He had no problems with his diploma when he checked into the military and also used to to go to college. Is everything perfect at thisschool? No, but I would send my son to MWA again. He agress that this school saved his life or kept him out of jail.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Midwest Academy
2416 340th Street, Keokuk, IA  52632
(319) 524-3560
Last modified Midwest Academy is a Private school that serves grades 5-12
Midwest Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top