Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Marion High School 5

Posted March 05, 2014
- a parent
I have one student currently attending Marion High and loves his teachers. They challenge him and encourage him to continue to pursue his interests. He is being well prepared for college and has already acquired college credit. Communication with teachers is open and quick to respond if I request information. So far in the first year, we have enjoyed our experienced.

Marion High School 2

Posted June 10, 2011
- a parent
As a parent of one gifted and another special needs child, I am sorely disappointed in our school district. Our special education program is ran as if all disabilities are behavior disorders and a gifted child is not coached or counseled to reach their true potential. The AEA does little to intervene and support/accommodations are not administered. You will hear "we don't have money for that" and "outside contract hours" often here.


Marion High School 5

Posted May 19, 2011
- a community member
As a graduate, I feel like Marion HS is able to offer large school opportunities with small school comforts. It seems like there are less political battles within the system than other schools and kids are able to take advantage of opportunities versus being turned away without a chance. I also feel like the smaller size allows students to gain confidence without as much judgment/trial as larger schools often do.

Marion High School 5

Posted March 18, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Marion High School 0
no rating

Posted June 06, 2008
- a parent
athletes and kids of teachers are highly favored, politics is huge at m.h.s,if you dont agree with the powers that be then just go away. principal and other teacher parents control all coaches,its sad


Marion High School 3

Posted May 09, 2006
- a parent
This school sorely lacks leadership. The board and other school employees do not value parent's concerns.They are more athletic oriented than art/music or academic. They insist on teaching core math which has failed in many other schools and does not prepare our students for college. No child left behind is their bottom line.

Marion High School 5

Posted December 01, 2004
- a parent
This school is not as huge and frusterating as LinnMar. You do not need to be rich to go to this school. It's a lot less of a hastle also.And at Marion there is a group for everyone.

Marion High School 5

Posted August 26, 2003
- a parent
This school has an outstanding staff/parent partnership in teaching and working with the students.


Marion High School 1

Posted August 11, 2003
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marion High School
675 South 15th St, Marion, IA  52302
(319) 377-9891
Last modified Marion High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Marion High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top