Advertisement
Advertisement

Marshalltown Area Catholic School

Private | PK-6 | 232 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Marshalltown

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $79,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $599.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 5, 2013

We currently have 3 of our 5 children enrolled at MACS (soon to be St. Francis Catholic School) and we absolutely love it. St. Francis has high academic standards, great parent involvement and wonderful administration! Small class sizes allow for excellent student/teacher ratios. We feel our children's needs are being met whether they need to be encouraged to push themselves or challenged in their advanced level. We love that our children participate in prayer services and are held accountable to the virtues our family is trying to teach. We also appreciate that our children's music programs are used as an opportunity to praise God! Financial aid is available to all (Catholics AND non-Catholics), so if you thought a dynamic, private education was out of reach, give St. Francis a call! We hope to see you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

MACS is a community of caring teachers, parents, and students. MACS has been wonderful for my children both academically and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

They help our children learn, but also give them great values to live their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

I am from Marshalltown, Ia, and I graduated from Marshalltown Senior High School. I am a chemist/educator and I am very pleased to see one of my hometown schools entered in this contest!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2010

I have friends who have children attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2010

Christian values of home reenforced with teaching......


Posted October 3, 2010

My 5 kids went through there and had a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

All 3 of my children have received an excellent faith filled education at MACS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

It is a GREAT school that provides a GREAT education


Posted September 27, 2010

Just love the school, my kids are doing great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2010

The highly academic environment is blended with love and respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2010

They provide quality teaching and the smaller class that help the children that need extra help. Plus they learn about faith with is very important in today's life. Faith helps us when tough times come along and faith teaches us how we can give back to others. Children need this to grow...


Posted September 24, 2010

MACS IS GREAT!! Great school, families, and students!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2010

My children went to MACS and this is a school that we can all be proud of. The elementary school children must go to public schools starting in 7th grade. MACS kids seem to do very well in the public school and are usually the top kids in the classes. Teachers always comment on how they can tell the kids that go to Marshalltown Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2010

My children went to school there and received more attention and help than they could ever have in a public school. Because of this they both graduated from high school above average grades and went on to college. One of my son's got a full ride to a private college beause of his grades. They are both very successful and confident adults because of the education they received at Marshalltown Area Catholic Schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

The teachers really care. The class sizes are small.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

I have taught here for 32 years. Every year is a new, exciting adventure. Our students love learning. Our parents are great. Our teachers are experienced and dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

The preschool has an excellent communication tool, The BEAR book!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

I love the family atmosphere and the community of support from the parents at MACS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

Loving environment, focusing on my kids and forming them into Christian leaders
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 86%
Hispanic 18% 7%
Asian 3% 1%
Black 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Dubuque
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10 W Linn St
Marshalltown, IA 50158
Phone: (641) 753-7977

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rogers Elementary School
Marshalltown, IA



Anson Elementary School
Marshalltown, IA



Fisher Elementary School
Marshalltown, IA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT