Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Moravia High School 5

Posted April 15, 2011
- a parent
Does a great job with all students, Staff cares about student welfare and academic success of students.

Moravia High School 1

Posted February 12, 2009
- a parent
I have children that go to this school. Our experience there has been challenging for the most part. I want to highly recommend two out standing teachers that both my children have had. They are Ms.Main and Mrs.Lenz they have went above beyond the call of making sure my childrens well being at that school. The school needs better communication skills developed and more interaction on behalf parents/students. It's a small school and has potential, I hope that the leaders themselves are teachable. They have much room to grow!


Moravia High School 4

Posted January 16, 2009
- a parent
I feel that Moravia tries extremely hard in everything they do. The teachers are over worked and under paid and the school gets hardly no money from the State of Iowa.The parents are the ones that don't care about whether the children learn or not! They just want them to pass. If the teachers give a failing grade because the child did not work and failed every test, the parents come in and complain and threaten the teachers to change the grades so it won't look bad on thier records. This is garbage. Parents do not discipline thier children and do not back up the teachers orthe principles in any way or form. A school can only do as well as their parents invlovement. How many parents actually help Moravia out? Less then a handful. It's a shame all they want is a babysitting service. Children are lazy Don't blame Teachers.

Moravia High School 1

Posted October 14, 2008
- a parent
This school really needs to work on its academics. They are quickly falling behind what the state requires. These kids are going to struggle in college.

Moravia High School 5

Posted December 14, 2007
- a teacher
As a teacher at Moravia I can honestly say that everyone works very hard to achieve success. Teachers and staff spend countless hours outside their contracts to create interesting and meaningful lessons, coach sports, attend/run activities, and provide additonal support to struggling students. The small class sizes allow for much individualized instruction, and unique learning opportunities for students. Moravia is a high quality school with a motivated, dedicated, and highly qualified faculty and staff who will do just about anything to help students learn and achieve their highest potential.


Moravia High School 4

Posted May 30, 2006
- a student
Moravia Schools does infact need some improvements. However, it is the parents of the Students who need to improve. The staff at Moravia Schools can only do so much as far as the education level and extraccurricular activities are concerned. I have seen excellent work on staffs part.

Moravia High School 2

Posted March 19, 2005
- a student
I strongly believe that Moravia is not capable of providing good education to our children. The classes are simple and most of the teachers will allow the students to 'slide through'. Much of the faculty plays favorites, which is mostly their own children and their friends. The school is not just to many students. If you and your family did not grow up in the area or if you are not a sports jock, you will never fit in Moravia schools and they will let you know it. As far as I can see, the school has went tremendously downhill since I graduated. The different athletic teams have all went down to the ground as well as our wonderful band. What has happened to Moravia? I believe that the school needs much improvement. So much, in fact, perhaps it is impossible and needs to be either taken over or shut down.

Moravia High School 5

Posted September 30, 2004
- a student
I feel Moravia is doing a great job educating our students. They are light years ahead of other area schools in preparing their students for college. This is both a blessing and a curse. Due to the tough classes some students are not able to do as well as they would at Centerville, however Centervilles honor roll students would only be average at Moravia. As for the sports teams, they are starting to rebound after some embarressing rebuilding years. The young athletes are really starting to step up to the responsibility of representing their school on the playing field.


Moravia High School 1

Posted September 28, 2004
- a student
I think the school is not up to par with surrounding schools such as Centerville, Seymour, and isnt even close to Moulton. There sports team are lacking quality and thier students are not well educated.

Nearby schools

Moravia High School
505 North Trussell St, Moravia, IA  52571
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (641) 724-3241
Last modified Moravia High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top