Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodbury Central High School

Public | 9-12 | 195 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2013

Woodbury Central is a great school. People just don't understand how tight our community is. Since we have consolidated with Kingsley for several classes and sports our community has grown even larger. The issue about the people in sports getting special treatment is completely false. Every teacher gives you the respect and attention you give them. It is just a matter of attitude.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2010

My husband and I moved out of Sergeant Bluff, IA to Moville so our kids could be in a smaller school. Big schools worried me. We are satisfied with the progress our kids have achieved. I have had a few issues and went directly to the principal and staff who worked with me to help resolve the problems quickly. Every small school has the 'in' crowd and 'jocks' but it is part of growing up. Kids will become adults and have these same issues at college and work. We Love WC!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

I am a parent and have had 2 children graduate from this school and currently have one attending. I can definitely state that this school is NOT passive in terms of bullying. It takes place and is pretty much ignored. Faculty love to state how they have an excellent anti-bullying policy in place however it is never utilized. A child could walk up to another and call them names, hit them etc and if the child retaliates and is caught, the child who was initially bullied gets into trouble. They never bother to take the time to get to the bottom of a situation and handle it. Personal business is shared with community members by staff without any concern for privacy. There is parental involvement within the school. However, this school is also very "cliquish". As someone stated already, it lets everyone know that jocks and cheerleaders are of first priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2010

I just recently graduated from this school. I went here my whole life so I know the ins and outs of it. Its a fairly passive school in terms of bullying. I didn't see any fights during my entire k-12 career. Jocks are favored by some teachers but that is to be expected in many schools. I didn't belong to any social class and I managed just fine. Some people say this school doesn't prepare the students for college, but if you actually try academically you will do just fine. There are many classes offered that are good for college credit. There were no AP classes offered but upper level math classes cover the same material as Calculus II in college. Its not the best school but its also far from the worst. At the end of the day , the teachers really do care about the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2009

I am currently a student here, and as far as I can be convinced this is not an amazing school. They, the administrators, continue bringing in old alumae, so it continues to be a small town, with small ideas. The curriculum is not hard enough, however there are many classes offered. Some rules set in the handbook are slightly asinine, but who am I to judge it? I've only been here my whole life. Compared to other schools it may be quite better, however, coming from a current student I would not have Woodbury Central High School as my primero choice!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2008

The climate has changed drastically in last 2 years. Community attendance and support has decreased, students are less involved, and there is a lack of mutual respect between teachers/admin and students. I'm very disappointed in the direction this great school has taken.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

As and IT major I was very grateful for all the IT related college credit classes Woodbury Central offered me. I left with 22 college credits right out of high school. I was happy with my education but there is always more that can be done.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2008

horrible. did not prepare me for college. It prepared me for learning that football players and cheerleaders are better than anyone else.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 81%
Hispanic 6% 9%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A39%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

408 South 4th St
Moville, IA 51039
Phone: (712) 873-3128

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



East High School
Sioux City, IA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT