Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 210 students

Christ-centered, Academically Challenging Education

 

Living in North Liberty

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $159,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 2, 2013

I've been involved with Heritage for over a decade, and I couldn't be more proud to be associated with an organization that meets its mission statement as superbly as it. The new $3.5 million facility is merely an outward expression of the quality within, as teachers and staff partner with parents to provide a Christ-centered and academically challenging education. Enrollment has nearly doubled in seven years (now in the 190's) because of excellence. I've watched numerous Heritage students go on to become Valedictorian, Homecoming royalty, remarkable at the theatre arts, etc. during the past decade as students enter the local public high schools. The front office staff are the utmost professionals, and the administrator is outstanding. Class caps are strictly held in check to no more than 24 students per class, which includes an aide! Small classes where parents know the teachers and the other parents...it's amazing, and the way it should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2013

Heritage Christian School is a hidden gem in the Iowa City/Coralville/North Liberty area. The school is staffed with caring and committed teachers who are certified in their subject areas and demonstrate a passion for teaching that is grounded on the cornerstone of God's word. The administration is committed to excellence in everything they do and seek to make Heritage not just the area's best Christian school but THE best school. Heritage students excel in state (Iowa Assessment) and national standardized testing (ACT Explore for 8th graders) consistently outperforming their peers in other local schools. Class sizes are capped to make sure the teacher/student ratio leads to excellence in teaching and learning. More than anything the Christ-centered focus of everything the school does - from classroom instruction, to extra-curricular programs (e.g., Band, Sports, Choral Music, etc), and community events grounds students in God's word as the source of all learning. If you're looking for a sound Christian eduction Heritage Christian School is by far the areas best choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2013

Deciding where to send our children to school was a big decision. After hearing so many positive responses about Heritage Christian School from other parents, we decided to enroll our oldest in Kindergarten at Heritage. Within the first few months we knew we had made the right decision. We saw tremendous growth spiritually, academically, and socially. Six years later, all of our children attend Heritage and get to experience a Christ-centered education that has exceeded our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2012

Communication by the administration is poor. They rarely updated the web page calendar. When you ask for information, it s always met with rolling eyes and reference to the school handbook. The handbook is outdated. After care costs $5 per minute if you do not enlist in the mega $$$ monthly program and when you use it, you get the rolling eyes there too. FRUSTRATED.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

We have had children at this school for the past four years. The teachers, administrator, staff, and Board truly live out their mission of being Christ-centered. We have been so impressed at the high standard of academics as well as the "everyday" learning that our children have received. We would HIGHLY recommend this school if you are looking for a quality, Christ-centered education for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2008

As a grandparent I offer my highest endorsement of Heritage. They have been loving and supporting for both our grandson and his parents (our daughter and son in law). Our grandson has grown academically and in character since starting at Heritage.


Posted November 21, 2006

Well I'm not a parent but I did go to Heritage and I really liked it. It has a good foundation and you can tell that God is the focus.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 21, 2004

I love this school! The potential for parental involvement is great. The teachers are loving, and most importantly are allowed to pray with my child. The quality of education is very high. Consider Heritage Christian School!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 81%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Black 2% 5%
Hispanic 2% 9%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:25 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Michael Annis
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • CSI
Fax number
  • (319) 626-4778

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Girls on the run
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • f you are curious about Heritage and would like to check out what we do here, schedule a visit! Spots are still open for 2014-2015! Prospectives for future students are always welcome to stop by as well. We are thankful that God has provided the school with incredible students, parents, faculty and staff that have made Heritage truly special and an important part of the community. We have been told that we are the “Best kept secret in Johnson County” but we don’t want that to be true, so we are
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
22
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
31

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$2000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
West High School
Clear Creek Amana High School
City High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

255 Hackberry Street
North Liberty, IA 52317
Website: Click here
Phone: (319) 626-4777

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Penn Elementary School
North Liberty, IA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT