Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Norwalk Senior High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 16, 2013

I recently graduated this high school and loved every minute of it. Although some teachers do very much hate their job, others love it and are willing to help you learn at any opportunity. In contrary to the earlier statement, money is spread everywhere there are boosters for liberal arts, as well as athletics and educational boosters as well, in Norwalk athletic boosters are very successful in comparison to others. Hence new uniforms for sports teams and new equipment and a stadium. The principal Dale Barnhill is very involved and closely relates with all his students. Also, the superintendent in this district is very educationally focused as well. If looking for a school in the area this is a very good one to look into. I strongly advise sending your children to this school some of the highest testing scores in the state.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2011

As much as I loved Norwalk high school, I didn't care for it at the same time. The kids were always rude, some teachers were but others just sucked. This school is not great but it's better than other schools. I'm debating wanting to send my future children here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 23, 2009

Great school! Teachers are extremely helpful and easy accessible. Students are kind, friendly with a great school spirit. Great basketball team and soccer team in 3A.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2009

Its a great school Most teachers are really nice and this year our football team dominated but could have more fun and freedom to do things we are actually going to use in the near future and let us do what we want to do
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2007

Okay here we go great school all the teams own except football I'm not going to pass the blame and this school loves to do that so instead of complaining let's do something about it! Show your colors and help us players keep our heads up
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2006

Students at norwalk high school do not have enough freedoms and do not even get the opportunities that some of the other high school in the area do. for example taking a photography class. there has not been a photography class at this high school for many years now and i do feel as if my child is missing out on that opportunity.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2004

Great School. The administration handles student affairs wonderfully along with the other tasks of running the school. Little diversity, but great test scores(SAT, ITBS), and a very low number of major problems. My children and I both have loved this school from day one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2004

Ok school, but have been frustrated with some of the high school teachers. Some teach for a paycheck between sports coaching seasons, and do not place nearly the passion on education as they do for the sports. (I'm not naive, this happens everywhere--just seems really bad here) Also, it doesn't appear that high school teachers are very accountable for their curriculum. Some hasn't changed in five years (through my first two children). But the baseball team has new uniforms each year. Hmmmmm? Where's the emphasis? Anyone else see anything wrong with this picture?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Norwalk is an alright school. Teachers care a lot about the students and want every student to do well. The only bad thing about Norwalk High School is that it has no diversity.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities52%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities52%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 81%
Hispanic 4% 9%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A39%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1201 North Ave
Norwalk, IA 50211
Phone: (515) 981-4201

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Orchard Place School
Des Moines, IA


Lincoln High School
Des Moines, IA


Valley Southwoods
West Des Moines, IA


Walnut Creek Campus
West Des Moines, IA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT