Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Southeast Polk High School 3

Posted September 05, 2014
- a community member
I loved southeast polk, I had a pretty good experience there however now that my little sister is in school, I am a little frustrated with the bullying! Yes my sister is difficult, however the teachers do nothing to stop the bullying and even go as far as picking on her themselves. Disappointed in how they have had multiple suicides and don't seem to change the way they do things.

Southeast Polk High School 5

Posted July 17, 2011
- a teacher
Southeast Polk is a great place to work and go to school. The facilities are outstanding, the HS Principal (Mr. Bredlow) is a big cuddly bear and the rest of the teachers come up with exciting lessons to engage the students in learning. I would not want to work in another school district!!! Keep it up SEP!!!!


Southeast Polk High School 5

Posted August 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Southeast Polk High School 0
no rating

Posted August 25, 2009
- a parent
Our kids have been in this school system for 9 years. We have one in high school, one in junior high. I have had great success with working with some teachers(this is true at any school) they love their job and care about academics and the student 's self esteem and teach them how to use their resources and become a mentor. But overall, this school has gotten to big to fast and are not handling the diversity of the students abilities. Students are falling thru the cracks, and we will continue to see it. Students are not ready for college, study habits are not developed, reading, writing..and basics are not developed to the extent they should be to be successful. Parents need to be involved, make sure students follow thru. But teachers, administrators you are the ones that are the professionals, make sure you are reaching out to every student.

Southeast Polk High School 5

Posted June 15, 2009
- a student
I love my school! SENIOR CLASS OF 2010!


Southeast Polk High School 5

Posted February 20, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Southeast Polk High School 3

Posted February 16, 2009
- a student
This school has a quality Talented and Gifted program that because of a singular teacher's intense efforts, helps students overcome many of the unnecessary pre-requisites and 'hoops' that the district creates. Many in the Central Office & some within the high school administration lack direction and knowledge of what the district truly needs. Many activities and quite often academics as a whole are overlooked. The academic arena that leaders do choose to focus their time and attention on is standardized testing, which in its own right is respectable. However, the parents, teachers, administration, & students need to begin pushing for high expectations within the daily classroom setting. The district also needs to focus attention and funds on more athletics and other extracurricular activities beyond the few that produce revenue . More attention payed to the lesser known activities could begin to bring in more revenue as well, and increase school pride.

Southeast Polk High School 5

Posted February 07, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Southeast Polk High School 5

Posted November 20, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Southeast Polk High School 0
no rating

Posted September 06, 2008
- a parent
i am a parent with 3 children in the southeast polk district and i graduated there myself one of my children has graduated one will graduate this year one is at an elementary school and one will start in 3 years my children love this school as do i as far as the help for low income famillies there is a lunch program a program to help with utilities and rent a program where even the kids are expected to help with community service and give to other low income families in the district but you do have to ask for help so the school knows who you are it is a rural school so the emphasis is on responsibility and helping others and has small town values parents ar eexpected to be involved

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southeast Polk High School
7945 NE University Ave, Pleasant Hill, IA  50327
(515) 967-6631
Last modified Southeast Polk High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Southeast Polk High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top