Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Sioux City, IA
Students enrolled: 1,318

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


North High School 5

Posted July 10, 2014
- a parent
North High School is the most diverse school in Sioux City and that is one of the pieces I most enjoy about my children attending there. Students are friendly and staff is professional and hard working. It is also a supportive school for children. They have been part of a safe schools grant and have worked very hard to involve parents and students. A diploma from North High School stands for a quality education and my children will have that at the end of their four years there.

North High School 2

Posted January 21, 2012
- a parent
The school is of low quality in terms of security, bullying, cleanliness, and staff. Many students bully other students. The parking lot is a unsafe place for your vehicle, many people do not have proof of insurance. My son said his history teacher is unprofessional in his job and rarely helps him. North is not a good place to send your student if he or she is not a sociable type. If you are transferring your student here, I would transfer them to east high school or west. North was a big mistake for me and my son.


North High School 4

Posted September 26, 2008
- a parent
North High is a great school,My son is the fresh man and he likes the school, teachers and the councillor regarding the help reguired.

North High School 5

Posted July 17, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

North High School 0
no rating

Posted March 09, 2008
- a parent
My daughter attended North High for her freshman year but we recently took her out due to behavior problems of other students (a diverse clique) (and some teachers and administration.) The school did try to help her academically somewhat. submitted by a parent


North High School 4

Posted February 08, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

North High School 4

Posted July 29, 2007
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

North High School 5

Posted May 29, 2007
- a parent
I think North High is a wonderful school to be part of .My daughter has been going since freshman year and she is very involved with band,tennis & musicals and choir.The kids all get along with everybody.The teachers and staff are great and the parents reallt get incolved with everything at North


North High School 2

Posted August 05, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

North High School 4

Posted June 05, 2005
- a student
NHS is an OK institution. In my view, it is better than the other two public high schools in the city (West and East High). While Iowa is 90+% white, North has a fairly good balance of diversity. But don't let that fool you, some tend to stick to their own groups. Speaking of groups, there are a few cliques here, but nothing major and most are accepting. North is also home to a lot of kids who should be in private institutions because they aren't ready for public schools (special ed and mentally disabled). Athletics here are ok, but North is known for its music talent. The jazz band has either been runner up or winner at state for about ten years now.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North High School
4200 Cheyenne, Sioux City, IA  51104
(712) 239-7000
Last modified North High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top