Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bishop Heelan Catholic High School

Private | 9-12 | 550 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Sioux City

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $52,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2012

Heelan is the best school in so many ways! It is a great place to be at! Whether you are participating in athletics, learning chemistry, or socializing at a school dance, it is an outstanding experience! I was blessed to go to Heelan! My mom had just as good of a time when she was there in the '70's! I can't wait to see the new Heelan High building and see how it touches the community even more! My bottom line is that Heelan is worth every penny!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2011

There is a misconception out there that Heelan is better than the local public schools. Not true. As a teacher who has taught students who went to school in both environments, I can tell you that academically the schools are equal. And, there are just as many negative influences at the Catholic school; they are just not as well known. Finally, Heelen recruits for sports, so the average athlete has little chance to play high school sports, whereas in the public schools he or she actually has a chance to play.


Posted May 21, 2009

I am a Junior at Bishop Heelan High School and it is a great school to be at. Everyone is friendly with everyone. No one is left out of anything!Going to school here is very rewarding with the teacher support and friendly students. It seems everyone in the school has a place that they belong to. Miracle Makers, A.W.A.R.E., Student Council, all the athletics and other extra-curricular activities really make you feel like you belong.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2008

everthing including sports is all politics.... it all has to do with what your last name is and what kind of car you drive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2008

I am so impressed with the quality principals, teachers, staff and academics at all the Bishop Heelan Catholic pre-K, elementary, middle and high schools!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

A great school to send your kids to!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

I am a 1970 graduate of Heelan, and have had 3 of my children graduate from this school so far. It is a school that encourages students to take college prep classes but its students would benefit with the availability of strong vocational/technical courses too. Heelan has a very strong sports program with much parent backing. It would be wonderful to be able to say that about the fine arts program, however, the teachers in that area are wonderful. The school's focus seems to have moved from that of a strictly Catholic education system to one which embraces those of all faiths.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

Bishop Heelan has very a sound academic program, offering numerous honors programs across its curriculum. It has a great combination of large school offerings, with a small school size and atmostphere. With a 9-12 enrollment of approximately 520 students, Bishop Heelan offers outstanding class sizes and a very accomodating teacher/student ratio. It's extra-curricular programs are annually near the top of the state in wide range of activities. Bishop Heelan has a very involved parent population who meet on a regular basis with Administration to improve communication throughout the system. Bishop Heelan offers the Siouxland area a top notch faith-based, educational opportunity that I would strongly recommend to anyone wanting an outstanding educational experience for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Terry Tomke
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (712) 252-4897

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1021 Douglas St
Sioux City, IA 51105
Website: Click here
Phone: (712) 252-0573

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



West High School
Sioux City, IA


North High School
Sioux City, IA


East High School
Sioux City, IA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT